We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantica Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here once before and wasn't really impressed.
However, when we started planning arrangements for accomodations for our wedding, we decided on this hotel for 2 reasons. First, it was cheaper than most hotels in the area. Second, it was 5 minutes up the road from our wedding venue.
We styaed here Saturday, September 14th.
They let us check in at 11 am, which was awesome because we needed a bit of time to get ready (4 bridesmaids and a bride take some time!)
We booked 2 rooms that were joining, and most of our guests ended up on the same floor as us as well. Our guests also paid a slightly lower rate when they mentioned they were there witha wedding party.
As soon as the bridal party and I got to the room in the morning, I called the front desk and asked for 6 wine glasses and within 3 minutes they arrived at my door on a tray. All night we kept forgetting room keys, locking ourselves out of rooms, etc. and the hotel staff was AMAZING with handling all of the chaos we must have caused with calling them every 10 minutes from room keys, etc. They totally changed my opinion of this hotel and I would definitely stay here again. They also let us park one of our vehicles in front of the main doors as it would not fit in the underground parking. We had to pay of course, but it was nice they let us park in the front.
Overall we were both very happy with the staff, the rooms, and the location.

Thank you Atlantica, for giving us a positive experience for our wedding accomodations. Your staff made our lives very easy on a very hectic day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    212
    94
    31
    18
See reviews for
135
185
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights at the end of August and were very satisfied. It's located near many
neighborhood restaurants and pubs that are reasonable and good for breakfast or dinner.
It is a little far from the waterfront, but we walked it anyway. All in all it was a very clean, comfortable room, nicely furnished. No complaints!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great hotel ,nicely decorated ,clean,good staff,good service,convenient and reasonably priced .
Room was clean,cheerful ,comfortable and worth every penny.Dining Room has a varied menu and fairly priced. Would highly recommend and don't forget to ask for CAA rates or special rates for hospital patients/families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators,re: noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I can't complain, we booked this hotel via Hotwire and got a decent price for the area/time. $90. The hotel was clean and comfortable, but bed was very basic.

I would not pay full price for this hotel.

To top it off I was double billed as their system confused the Hotwire purchase. This was fixed after an extended phone call, unfortunately the employee answering the phone couldn't find my original reservation to make the correction. Another issue between hotwire and their system.

Overall I've stayed in worse and paid more, this was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a wonderful stay, the rooms are beautiful and very clean, but some of the staff aren't so great.
As I was coming back from a day downtown I overheard a housekeeper being mistreated by what seemed to have been management.
I feel that employees should be treated just as good as us as guests.
I later spoke with the housekeeper as she was very upset but said it's always that way. Not something guests should have to encounter during a stay at a hotel. I've never witnessed this before in any of the hotels I've stayed at in Illinois or Georgia.
I hope it's not an everyday thing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I am very pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.
I was, however, very concerned and disturbed about the interaction you witnessed between team members. We know our colleagues are our greatest assets and we value each and every one. The behavior you describe is absolutely not tolerated and I would very much appreciate it if you could get in touch directly so we could get some additional details. I can be reached at cforward@atlanticahalifax.com or at (902) 490-3339. Again, thank you very much for your comments.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The check in was super, the dinner at the hotel was superb. For a hotel pool, the pool area and gym were very nice, not the usual too much chlorine problem and a nice deck for good weather off the pool to sit and lounge and sunbath. The restaurant was surprisingly delicious, we had some wonderful pasta dishes.....tiny bit pricey for the town, but the food was top shelf. The only problem was the parking.....when the hotel is full, they do not keep tabs of the parking spaces to ensure there is enough for all the guests, upon returning at night, the parking lot was full and they were sending us in many directions for parking which seemed very unorganized. They should be keeping track of the lot and how many have checked into use it. It was good that when we complained on our bill they removed the parking fee.
Overall a great location and stay for the three days that we spent in Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful kitschy dining room overlooking the historic Halifax Commons, close to The Citadel. CAA rate includes a very good continental breakfast. Lots of healthy choices. Dining room staff are wonderfully friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid booking odd-numbered rooms. Unfortunately there is a row of smokers who congregate every day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as Starbucks coffee & Aveda bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.