We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantica Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the atlantica on my 50 th birthday. My husband mentioned it to Nicole at check in. The next day in my room Nicole had a dessert made up and put in our room with a personalized birthday card. I think those things are very special. The room on the 15 th floor was totally awesome with a very comfy bed. The buffet breakfast at seasons is also great and lots of selection. Our whole stay was wonderful. Thanks to Nicole and Megan at the front desk

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    212
    94
    30
    18
See reviews for
134
185
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

In June we attended a Royal Canadian Legion convention in Halifax. 8 of us stayed at the Atlanticia Hotel, from the moment we walked into the lobby we were treated like family, the check in was fast and easy with any information we needed as well as maps. The rooms are spacious and clean as are all the common areas. The staff is the best I've seen in awhile always friendly and willing to help with any request.We were in walking distance of the Trade Centre where the convention was being held. If raining we just got a car which was very reasonable as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Halifax and upon return I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The public areas of the hotel are fantastically done, the rooms could do with a little renovation, particularly the heating systems are a little old fashion and don't work as well as the modern climate control. A few little niggles (broken toilet flush and funny smell in room) sorted out very quickly and effectively by the hotel, and the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Walking distance to downtown (when it's not raining) although would recommend a cab if you're going right down to the waterfront. My room had a nice view of the park as well! Unfortunately it was near the ice machine which was a little noisey. I've never understood why people need ice at 3am!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The staff were VERY friendly (i dare you to say anyone from Halifax isn't friendly) but the hotel and the rooms were just so so for a 3.5 star hotel. The beds were a bit uncomfy (older beds.. i suspect because it was an old Holiday Inn converted) and the bathroom (usually my fav part of nice hotels) was just kinda.. well, it was like a holiday inn. Don't get me wrong.. for a casual stay, the price was right and the people were great. The bar staff was very friendly as well. It's just far enough away from downtown to make staying downtown for the same price, a bit more worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My daughter studies at Dalhousie University, so when we visit her or move her in or out of residence, we have stayed at this hotel. The location is convenient (as are most things in Halifax, the most accessible big city in Canada!), the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff super-east-coast friendly.

The secret of this hotel is the Seasons restaurant. By far the best restaurant I have eaten at. High quality ingredients, delicious execution and spectacular presentation. And the price is so reasonable. We spend less having a meal there, which is a memorable experience, than at a franchise restaurant like Moxie's!!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I ended up staying at the Atlantica as we were in town for the weekend going to a show, and some us time in the city. Normally we stay at a more central to the down town hotel, but those properties were sold out or there rate was extremely high, must have been a large conference in town. So when I called the Atlantica and asked there rates compared to the other options were very reasonable, so I decided to get a suite as a treat. We were in the “Dream Suite” wow what a room, this is a UN known treasure in the city. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, I found out at check out it is a hand made bed from England, so almost a one of a kind. The room had a separate living room and ½ baths which is very handy if two people are getting ready to go out. TV could be a little bigger but not bad still a 32”. One of the best things about the stay was, if you stay in the Dream suite, the hotel gives ½ the rate to the Ronald Macdonald house. A good night sleep and I did a good deed at the same time. Room and hotel were clean, restaurant in off the lobby not bad on price for a hotel, food was good, and servers were very friendly.
My worry about being far from down town, were not founded, it was only $6 cab ride back to hotel, and the next day it was a nice leisurely walk about 30 min past a park and a old fort called citadel hill , all down hill. Do your self a favor and check this out very cool. I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Get the dream suite, pay the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Atlantica Hotel Halifax was well worth my $. Staff went over and above to ensure my stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as Starbucks coffee & Aveda bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.