We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantica Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Create your Stay
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Stay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The first thing I noticed entering my "non-smoking" room is that it smelled like cigarette smoke. I asked the desk to change rooms, however, there were no more rooms available. The hotel said they would send someone to clean and remove the cigarette smell. They tried, but it still smelled horrible. When I went to bed I pulled the sheets and noticed a blood stain... Gross! The sheets were frayed and old! Very disappointing. Slept... The next day after room service, bed was not well made, toilet paper ran out (they did not have an extra roll), and room still smelled!

Overall, this was a horrible stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    206
    89
    29
    14
See reviews for
124
178
46
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is nice and clean. Located relatively conveniently although walking downtown may be a bit far for some. Street in front is very busy but not too noisy in hotel. Parking and wi-fi available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Comfortable stay. You always hope for something clean and comfortable as a minimum. If you can get these at a good price you're generally happy. We were. The reception staff were fantastic and made us feel instantly welcome - so a big nod to them.
We satyed during some 'Halifax Weather' so, sought out the inhouse dining facilities. Can't fault this. Nicely cooked food at a reasonable price,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My son and I stayed here while touring Dalhousie and St Mary's universities. We got it by luck from hotwire. The hotel is great. The room was on the 9th floor and fairly quiet. We could hear some traffic from the intersection at Robie street, but it was not a problem. We will stay here again. We walked to the waterfront in 25 minutes to have supper. Parking at the hotel is $17.50/night underground. We parked on the street for free. Be careful of the street cleaning signs .. no overnight parking on Wednesday's (that means Tues night - Wed morning). We ate breakfast at a diner (Adore, I think) on Qunipool Rd ($3.99 for bacon, eggs, hash browns, toast, coffee during the week). We drove there. We ate supper at McKelvie's on the waterfront ... seafood is their specialty and it was very good. They have an early bird menu from 4pm - 6pm, full (select) meals minus desert for $19.99. Their website shows what is on the early bird menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Citadel ... the higher the better of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Dr's at the IWK Health Clinic for the childrens ward were very helpful in pointing us into the proper direction for a night to stay in this beautiful Hotel with the best rates possible, my family & I were so welcomed by the staff, I will always be so very thankful to them all Justin J #104 who brought my sandwhich & fries to my room for me & to Levis for the beautiful breakfast buffett that was prepared for everyone, & to the woman who came running after me to give me a teddy bear for a momento thank you guys so very much for everything, my family & I will love you all forever & my son has to go back in up comming months to see the Dr's at the IWK Health Centre we will most deffentily be back & hope that we can have our room # 1000 on the 10th floor again, maybe this time I can go for a swim.......

Room Tip: Any room I'm sure is beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax ,Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel while attending a wedding. The hotel room was first class as was the service. The banquet room was exquisitely decorated and each staff member was focused on service. We spent some time at the pool and leisure center as well. There was a full time pool attendant who ensured that the area was clean and fully stocked with towels. The front desk staff provided a smooth check in and check out process. Each staff member from porter to housekeepers were totally professional. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed 3 nights in that hotel in summer 2010.
it was an ordinary hotel in downtown Halifax.
I was travelling alone, but they did not have any single bedroom, so they gave me a room with double beds! The beds were clean. The bathroom was quite old. There were so many scratches in the bathtub and toilet. I requested to change my room. But it was the same thing in the other room as well.I think the hotel bathrooms need renovation.
There is a swimming pool in the hotel, but I did not use it.
My room view was good. The room was quite and I did not have any trouble sleeping.
once I had breakfast in the restaurant and the quality was average.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as Starbucks coffee & Aveda bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.