We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Save Saved
You added Atlantica Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Halifax
Cary, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Clean and adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed at the Atlantica for one evening when we first arrived in Halifax, prior to heading to our final desination. We had a late flight and did not arrive at the Atlantica until after midnight. They were very accomodating and helpful when we arrrive at that hour. Reserved through priceline with a name your bid offer, so was pleased with the rate. However, the parking rate was a disappointment.
The hotel was an Holiday Inn express at one time we were told. The room was clean and updated, but small. The view we had was of a side street and nothing interesting. Nice amenties in the hotel. Located a bit from the down town area, but across from a park and near the Citadel. The adjacent street, Quinpool, is a typical urban street with interesting restaurants, coffee shops and some shops. But not a street with higher end stores or restaurants that one might find on a main street in a cities downtown. This area was located about a 15 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I was pleased to note that you found our team to be helpful and welcoming when you arrived at the hotel. Our team is committed to round the clock service excellence and we are very proud of them all. On future visits, check out our website prior to making your reservation. We offer excellent value added packaging on a regular basis; many offers include options such as underground parking, deluxe continental breakfast, early check in or late check out, etc.
Our location is truly at the crossroads of the city. Quinpool Road is a wonderful, eclectic mix of shops and restaurant and is located right around the corner from the hotel. Additional shopping and restaurant options are a short distance away (10 minutes walk or a $6.00 cab ride).
Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your business.
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    179
    80
    25
    9
See reviews for
104
156
40
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The batroom has mold on the walls, the bathroom fan does not work at all.
The food in the restaurant was miniscule at best. Supper was $70.00 and we left hungry......
Never again!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. It is certainly disappointing to hear that the condition of your guest bathroom was not in keeping with our very high standards of cleanliness and guestroom maintenance. I certainly apologize for this experience. You did not mention whether your concern was brought to the attention of one of our Guest Service Associates or the Manager on Duty as certainly we do try to correct any guest inconvenience during the stay. We want each of our guests to be anxious to return on their next Halifax visit.
If you would like to discuss your concern further directly with one of our team members, please do not hesitate to contact me at cforward@atlanticahalifax.com.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Was in Halifax for extended stay and had to be close to hospitals. Booked through priceline so my stay was divided between the Westin Nova Scotian, The Atlantica, and Best Western Chocolate Lake. The Atlantica was a great stay. The room was clean, beds were very comfortable, not very noisy. The restaurant was great, the hotel staff very friendly. Pool area and fitness center was small but clean and up to date equipment. The parking is a little steep, but keep in mind this is Halifax and everywhere charges a parking fee unless you stay on the outside of downtown. Was the most convenient for anyone having to be at the Infirmary Hospital, right across the street. One of my favorite places to stay in Halifax! would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax with your fellow travellers. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the hotel. You did mention that you needed to be close to the hospital while in the city. We do have an excellent hospital rate program that offers guests a special overnight rate with parking included and a discount in our Seasons by Atlantica Restaurant. Additionally, we are proud to support our local hospital foundations with a donation from each and every night sold through the hospital program.
Thank you again for your recommendation of the hotel. We truly appreciate having you as our guest.
Best Regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I stopped in for a night and stayed for four nights.

The staff are so accommodating, On the front desk, the concierge or in the restaurant they go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect.

Upgrade to the "Executive Floor" Is well worth the premium.

Looking forward to returning.

John & Joyce Noble

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. We so appreciate you sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be willing to go the extra mile. They are very committed to service excellence and our hotel's best asset.
I am glad that you have a chance to try out the Executive Level guestrooms. They do offer an excellent value and include some fabulous amenities such as full hot breakfast daily, free long distance calls within North America, complimentary appetizer in Seasons Lounge daily, great views of the city and so much more.
Hope you will be back to visit us soon.
All the best
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed Sept 30-2(2nights) Booked through travelocity,a top secret room. The hotel is large. First of all, the parking is horrible. I do not understand the extreme cost for the area. It is not "downtown" Halifax. Very difficult to find a parking spot in their garage even after paying $39 for two nights(JUST TO PARK) For that price it should be valet service. And trying to navigate to your room after you park is very difficult. Alot of walking and stairs and 2 elevators. The room was a very basic standard room. Beds were horrible, very uncomfortable and tiny cheap pillows. The bathroom also was basic. The shower head was old and falling apart and leaked like a fountain, which soaked the bathroom so then we had to use the towels to soak up the water everywhere. It was a very busy weekend and very loud. The restaurant is priced so high it's not worth staying there($7.50 for one draft beer) I would not stay at this hotel again. No reason to stay here when you can pay less for more somewhere else.. Person at the front desk never asked "how was your stay"

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room,we asked but didn't get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We do charge a fee of $17.00 per night for parking in our heated, underground parkade which is quite competitive for hotel parking charges within the city. We do not offer regular valet service, but our team is certainly available to assist you with parking or anything else that may be of concern during your stay. The hotel website features some excellent value added packages that include options such as parking, continental breakfast, etc. This can be a great choice for guests with a vehicle.
Seasons by Atlantica Restaurant & Lounge offers excellent dining with a wide range of food and beverage options to suit varied tastes and is again priced in line with similar venues.
Again, I am very sorry that your particular experience was not positive. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you at another time in the future.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My family was very impressed with the customer service we received when staying at this hotel.

We came to the Maritimes for a 2 week holiday and to ultimately drop our son off for his first year of university. We had a tent trailer with us and camped all along the way until we arrived in Halifax. When we arrived at the Porter's Lake Provincial Park, the gates were locked and we discovered the park was closed due to Hurricane Irene.

I quickly consulted my CAA travel guide to find the hotel closest to the university to see what could be arranged. This turned out to be the Atlantica. I contacted the front desk and explained the situation and that we were towing a tent trailer and would no doubt have difficulty parking at the hotel. They assured me there would be no problem and indicated that they would find a solution when we got there. When we arrived, the concierge quickly fixed us up with the parking situation (at no charge) and the front desk arranged for a fridge in our room so we could empty our cooler.

We proceeded to stay 3 nights, which turned out to be for the best. We had a great opportunity to visit the city and my son was able to orient himself to the neighbourhood nicely. We had to unhook the trailer and leave it behind a couple of times to purchase last minute items and the concierge helped us manage that with a smile on his face.

The rooms were very nice and the pool facilities also added to our enjoyment. What started out as a very stressful time for us turned out to the be the crowning finish to our holiday. We will certainly be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you so very much for the very kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. Our team is very committed to providing our guests with top notch service excellence and we are very proud of their efforts. So, it is very gratifying for you to recognize them in this positive manner.
We do hope that you have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future. By the way, if you are coming back to pick up or drop off your son at university again, we have excellent university accommodation rates, so be sure to ask our reservations team about them when you call.
Thank you again. We truly appreciate your business and the fact that you shared your positive experience with your fellow travellers.
Best Regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at the Atlantica for one night in Sept/11. The room was very clean and the bedding very nice. The parking charge $17.00 per night was unexpected and the parking is very very tight. I booked through Livewire and saved $40.00 + tax for the night. Checked every other sell off hotel site and wound up using Livewire. You don't know where you will stay but you can ask for a 4 star and have a room close to downtown. Good location and very quiet

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thanks so much for your review of your stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be a great value and that the rooms were to your satisfaction. Our housekeeping team is very proud of the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms, so it was great to have them recognized.
We do offer some excellent packages that include options such as parking, continental breakfast, etc. This might be a great choice for you on a future stay.
Again, thank you for your feedback and your business.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as Starbucks coffee & Aveda bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.