We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best hotel I've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Suites - Halifax to your Saves list
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1583 Brunswick Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$139 FREE Parking
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Bermuda
1 review
“This was the best hotel I've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable. Everytime the see you they greet you as if it is the first time they have met you. The hotel is very close to grocery stores and shopping areas as well as IWK Hospital. As this was my first visit to Canada, I am glad that I stayed at Cambridge Suites Hotel, the staff have made me want to visit again. The Restaurant in the hotel has an excellent menu.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
The best part of our industry is hearing we exceeded someones expectations. It was our pleasure to host you and your family for 14 nights and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    320
    71
    27
    24
See reviews for
285
426
69
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, New Brunswick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I would have to let everyone know that our stay at Cambridge Suites-Halifax, was the most pleasurable hotel stay we have ever had. The customer service was exceptional, very friendly, knowledgeable staff. They all treated us as valued clients, and I have to say, that is hard to find in a good many areas. The rooms were wonderful, the scenery from our window was fabulous, the water was so calm, sun was shining, very peaceful. Everyone from Housekeeping to the Restaurant to the Service Desk, wonderful work ethic shown consistantly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for your review - I once heard a saying "that if you find a job you like you will never work a day in your life". Most, if not all of our staff, would agree that we have a lot of fun looking after some pretty amazing guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend, 10 year old and a one year old. We couldn't believe the size of the room and the view made it perfect. The room had a microwave and a fridge, which helped taking care of a young one. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here. The only down fall is no swimming pool, but the room makes up for that.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to speak favorably about our Hotel. I wish we had a pool too. We do have options for our guests to use a pool while staying with us and it is just two blocks away. I hope our guest services team made you aware of this option and if they did not my apologies. We hope to see you again KimR56 when you visit Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

As someone who travels a lot for work, I wish I could clone the Cambridge Suites Halifax (and its employees) in all the cities I vist: comfortable, clean rooms with good workspace, fridge/microwave/counterspace/sink for easy in-room dining, laundry facilities, indoor parking, recycling and green practices encouraged, helpful and friendly staff, nice views, great location, indoor parking, good value for the money...What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments on our property. We have a proud group of employees and a newly renovated product - we are equally proud of both great features our hotel offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites for 10 days while attending the Brier in March. We chose this hotel based om the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor and the fact thar it was very close to the Brier.
The breakfast buffet was good but a little inconsistent. Hard boiled eggs were available every day and some days, scrambled eggs, pancakes or french toast showed up. On our last morning we were given a voucher for a free hot breakfast. My overhard and broken eggs showed up over easy and very runny and my wife's scrambled eggs were not scrambled. Overall we were happy with the free breakfast, particularly the fresh fruit and great coffee.
Early on in our stay, we complained about the excessive heat in our room. Maintenance quickly showed up and explained that the settings only allowed for warm air at this time of year. We had our window open the entire stay. This was too bad because the rest of the room was very nice. It was very handy having a fridge and microwave. We enjoyed the lobster which we bought at Sobey's. We also enjoyed the jacuzzi at the top of the hotel overlooking Halifax. It was great being able to print off our boarding passes at the business center.
The staff was very good and we enjoyed the manager's reception. The staff tried to resolve our complaints and we even received a follow up call from the manager to see if the issues had been resolved and this was appreciated.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, March 27, 2010
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoyed the week of the Brier having hosted some great canadians from right across the country. I apologize for the breakfast confusion. We have been polling our guests and speaking with our most frequent guests about the breakfast experience. We have recently sampled with scrambled eggs, french toast, boiled eggs, bagels, etc to see what works best for our customers.
I have followed up with the restaurant and they had additional product from our trials and thought that the Brier followers may appreciate having more choice than we usually offer. Unfortunately we did a bad job communicating that to our customers and we confused them. Thank you for pointing this out to us and we will do our best to get our complimentary breakfast right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Rooms are Great!
The Service is Great!
The Food is Great!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you MorrisNewfoundland for your review - It was our pleasure to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We were there in March for the Brier, and were very happy with our experience. We were very close to the Metro Centre which was our main objective, and when I called to make reservations the receptionist assured me that it was a short walk. We parked our car in the underground parking, and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our room was a standard suite and it was very roomy and comfortable, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The curtains were heavy and great for keeping out the light, but when opened the window gave lots of light and a nice view of the city. The breakfast was very good, and I enjoyed oatmeal, fresh fruit, fresh still warm from the oven muffins and orange juice every morning. Also offered was toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal and coffee and occasionally fried eggs, scrambled eggs and pancakes - overall a very good selection. I also liked the fact that there were two computers with internet connection in a room off the lobby. At the restaurant, I had the best martini ever - a German Chocolate Martini - and it was delicious. We missed out on the Manager's reception - just arriving back at the end of it - but everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves with wine, beer and food. A special mention to Trish (the receptionist whom we first booked our reservations with - very friendly and helpful), Patrick (our waiter at the hotel restaurant - very friendly and yet professional) and Olga (housekeeping - great job cleaning our room) and the rest of the hotel staff who were all very friendly. We will definitely return to this hotel in the future - hopefully for the next Brier.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing the details of our property. We especially enjoyed that you mentioned some of our team members. They take a tremendous amount of pride in what they do and will truly appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Suites - Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.