We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Save Saved
You added Cambridge Suites - Halifax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1583 Brunswick Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$149 and FREE Parking
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Halifax
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here in June. Great King suite room with a view of Halifax harbour. Nice restaurant for breakfast in the morning. Close to many restautants and hot spots. Could not get closer to Citidal Hill unless you were on it. Very short walk to waterfront. Room was clean, large and well equiped. Bathroom was a little disappointing compared to the rest of the room. It still had everything you needed. Overall a nice expereince, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your time with us cdnfamily23. I am glad you enjoyed the overall experience of the property and look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    249
    43
    22
    18
See reviews for
208
308
54
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The staff are excellent, from originally booking by telephone through to check in and beyond the service was great. The room was clean and well decorated, with a good view. It should have been a 5 star stay but the restaurant and bar were closed for the duration of our stay and the continental style breakfast was very poor, I have had better in small motels by the Interstates than what was on offer here, at least Super 8 has waffles. For the price that I paid I expected the facilities advertised.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Good morning EasyDriverEngland and thank you for staying with us on yourrecent trip to Halifax. I am sorry the restaurant let you down because it seems like we were cruising along wonderfully with your stay until that aspect dropped the ball. We are in the process of improving that aspect of our hotel as we speak and I am excited about what is coming. I am sorry the restaurant affected your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites in June and it was great. When we checked in we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite, which was great. It gave us a kitchen, livingroom, and a seperate kinda bedroom. The extra room was great and having a fridge for snacks and cold drinks is really helpful.
Customer service is great, we had trouble with our door card and I went down to tell them, the lady at the front desk came back with us to make sure we could get in.
The hotel is located very centrally, except but it is uphill from the waterfront, so if you have any trouble going up and down hills, pick another hotel.
They have this great rooftop patio with tables and comfortable chairs and a BBQ to cook on. The rooftop patio has a great view of the harbour.
The hotel also has a continental breakfast and that gives you a great start in the morning.
I would stay in this hotel again should I be going to Halifax and I would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room 426 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you sprocak for the props - I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are always here to welcome you back. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were in Halifax at my daughter's graduation and looked forward to staying at the Cambridge. I had stayed at one in Toronto and found it very good.

The room was nice and the view of the harbour lovely. The towels, bedding were average so nothing really special. The breakfast area and the food was terrible. I think it would be much better if the breakfast was not included and they had a good chef on staff.The items at the buffet were marginal - lots of carbs and sugary cereal - not our cup of tea. The first day we had breakfast, there was yogurt on the buffet. The second day I asked for it and the server and she said, "That is for guests who pay for breakfast." OK, thank you very much. We spent five days at the hotel, stayed in a view room with a King bed so I think we were "paying guests". If you do not want to stock the breakfast menu with good good, don't include it as a perk.

All in all our stay in Halifax was wonderful. The city is so nice and we had great weather which was a plus. I would not race back to stay at the Cambridge :-(

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
I am sorry we let you down JECan. We are definitely going through a transition at the moemnt with the restaurant onsite but we believe blue skies are in our forecast on that front. I can only hope you give us a try again in the future and you notice a huge difference. Our Toronto property is great no question and in some ways does have a different feel from us but we both pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in June and agree with other reviewers that there isn't anything that could be improved upon at Cambridge Suites Halifax. The rooms, location, staff and amenities are all first class. We arrived after dark and chose to have a light meal in the on-site restaurant and had the chowder which was excellent. The breakfast included in the tariff is very good and offers a good variety. The Wednesday evening social was particularly welcome and a great opportunity to meet other travellers. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room which doesn't have an adjoining door optiion as the loud talking next door neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Shucks trishg3613 that is awfully kind of you to say. We are certainly not flawless but I am glad we left you with a good impression. We appreciate your kind words and never take compliments for granted because bumps in the road come in this business pretty quickly. You can be at the top of the heap one day and near the bottom the next. It would be our pleasure to have you back trishg3613 - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent two nights in the Cambridge Suites with our dogs while we waited to leave on our relocation to Ottawa. There is not a bad word to say about our stay. First of all, having a hotel be pet friendly is a great relief - anyone who travels with pets knows that the biggest hurdle is juggling a trip to make it stress free for both yourselves and your pets. The Cambridge Suites gets it right.

The rooms are well appointed and don't have that "boxy" feel most rooms have. There is a separate sitting room that makes it feel more condo-like. They have been updated nicely with quality, modern fixtures. It feels very cosmopolitan. The kitchenette makes basic meals easy to prepare.

The continental breakfast is well done with the usual fare.

The location is perfect for experiencing downtown Halifax - everything is within a short walk.

I would highly recommend the Cambridge Suites for any stay in Halifax.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us 2B1B - we appreciate your support and we are glad we were a good match for your needs on this trip to YHZ. I hope we get another chance very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Halifax. We stayed here in '09 on vacation, and this time when I was in Halifax for work, we both came back.

They have a great attitude: they made great suggestions for cheap dinner, not so cheap dinner, and not at all cheap dinner, and were happy to provide all of them. One night, we bought beers and fried clams and ate them on the roofdeck.

The roofdeck is an amazing feature. There's even a barbecue: people were using it the night we were eating our fried fish. The view is phenomenal.

They get it in other ways, too. They gave us suggestions of where to walk, and then they told me which neighbourhood was a little sketchy. (I went anyhow.) They told me where I could buy a swimsuit for the hot tub. They organize a staff run, and there's a wednesday wine/beer reception. (It was busy!)

The wifi is open and free. The rooms are spacious and have sinks and dishes; you could certainly hang out here for a couple weeks on a solo business trip.

Only two issues: it would be nice if the room had had two nightstands, not just one, and it would be nice if the doors were thicker: there were loud people the first night we were there, especially (which was Saturday).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hi melted_snowball. Thank you for staying with us in 09 and again this year. I love the title of your review - it means a lot to all of us and we hope we can welcome you back home again..... just don't wait for three years between visits please. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Suites - Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.