We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and sophisticated at the same time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waverley Inn to your Saves list
Waverley Inn
1266 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada (South End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and sophisticated at the same time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I was impressed at how well managed the the Waverly Inn was. The staff was courteous, helpful and there were two free Internet access computers in the main lobby.
They served yummy cookies and coffee every day mid-afternoon; breakfast was not stunning but decent. The location was perfect because it was within walking distance of the waterfront and the various shops and restaurants there.
The rooms were gorgeous and clean.
Coming from Boston I didn't find Halifax to be all that outstanding, though it did have a nightlife that surprised me.
I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Liked — That is was old and redone, had character and well taken care of
  • Disliked — it wasn't inexpensive but i guess similar to B&B's in a similar category
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    148
    42
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
191
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We had a beautifully appointed room with beautiful bed and bathroom, in this lovely atmospheric hotel. It was a terrific location in the town center, and includes parking. Exellent restaurants nearby and fast wireless internet in the room.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

We spent one night at the Waverley during our honeymoon in Nova Scotia. Due to our travel schedule, we didn't get a chance to linger much, but were very happy with our stay. The staff were very helpful -- checking in and out was very smooth. The restaurant that was recommended was great and we were glad that the staff let us know that the Maritime Museum was open late on Tuesday nights. It was a nice treat to enjoy fruit, cookies and coffee that seemed to be out at all times of day.
Our room was down the corridor from the front desk, possibly a later annex. Our room was on the small side and although very nicely furnished, was not nearly as grand as some photos of the hotel might lead you to believe. The bathroom which included a narrow jacuzzi was spotless, but was very small.
The location of the hotel was very convenient. In addition to being close to various sightseeing locations, the train station and bus terminal is one block away. A large supermarket is also a stone's throw away. The building was being re-painted during our stay, so the exterior looks refreshed.

  • Liked — Staff and atmosphere of lobby/sitting area
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We chose this spot based on tripadvisor.com reviews -- and once again the reviews do not disappoint! The location was perfect. It really is within nice walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go in town. We also had our rental car conveniently available for the day that we went golfing and the day that we explored the Peggy's Cove area. It was nice to be able to start every morning with the breakfast spread and end every evening with a visit to the blues club across the street.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Waverly Inn is located in downtown Halifax and just a quick walk to the harbor. All of the local attractions and many shops and restaurants are easily accessable. Our check-in and check-out were very quick, and the property is just gorgeous. Our room was small but very comfortable and we had everything that we needed. The staff was very friendly and were eager to provide maps and recommendations. The internet was also available on two computers in the mail lobby. The most wonderful part of our stay was the great breakfast buffet. The selection was superb. You had your choice of pancakes (one day banana chocolate chip, the next blueberry), french toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, beans, potatoes, fresh fruit, bagles, toast, fruit salad, different types of yogurt, cold and hot cereals, and a variety of juices, coffees, and teas. Coffee and tea were also provided at all times in the lobby as were afternoon and evening snacks and sweets. We loved our stat and thought that the value was excellent (there are many types and levels of rooms to choose from). We will certainly come again.

  • Liked — amenities, great breakfast, afternoon snacks
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Stayed in the waverley for 3 nights begining of June. Comfortable room though it was next to check in but not too noisy. Bed comfortable and room spotless.
Loved the afternoon/evening tea/coffee/cookies/fruit and the buffet breakfast was first-class.

  • Liked — breakfast and comfy bed
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

This was my pied-a-terre for my three days in Halifax and it couldn´t have been a better value. While not luxurious, the Waverley was more than comfortable and had a perfect central location for really enjoying Halifax. The staff were superb.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waverley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.