We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Halliburton to your Saves list
The Halliburton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5184 Morris Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

As part of a Christmas season treat, my wife and I stayed overnight in a suite with a fireplace, and couldn't have asked for a better night. This was no remote-control blue-flame mini-wall, but a traditional grate and stone hearth. There's nothing like a snowy Canadian winter night with a fire burning in a lovely room. Before heading up for the night we had an amazing meal at the attached restaurant, Stories. Check-in staff was friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    97
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
176
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel, very well located but in calm area. Spacious and well designed rooms. Very confortable and impeccable service and staff.
Very generous free continental breakfast. Very nice ambiance.
The free parking is appreciated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed there for two night in October. We were in the main building, no elevators/lifts. The room was ok, we could open the window but the view out of it was not great. The amenities were fine no problems. The breakfast was continental and very good with homemade muffins and cakes. The location was great easy walking distance to most places in Halifax. The restaurant The Stories was very very good, we enjoyed that the best. I think was well worth the stay but again if stairs are a problem then not for you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Been here twice in the past 8 months - March and November. Both times the staff have been friendly, efficient, and accommodating. Rooms are ample, comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful. Parking is included. Close to everything downtown - universities, Historic properties, museums. Citadel, train stations. Home to Stories, one of the finest restaurants in Eastern Canada.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Halliburton House was recommended by a place we'd stayed in Baddeck, Cape Breton, so we followed their lead with little disappointment. The location was "half way up the hill" with easy access to the port and boardwalk (downhill), and a strenuous but comfortable, slow climb (or cab ride) to the Citadel. Converted brownstones, we loved the creaky floors and the large, wood banisters, although an elevator would have been helpful - but they have "strapping young lads" available to help with your luggage. Our suite (consisting of a living room, bedroom, a wet bar, and a full bath) was small but comfortable, despite the coffee table that couldn't keep its "feet" attached if moved only an inch or the badly bruised desk that looked like it might have been part of some family roller derby. We weren't disappointed with our comfort or the service during our three night stay but we might seek out another venue, just for variety, the next time around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We chose Halliburton House because of its history and based on some previous recommendations is various magazines. We, sadly, ignored the many negative reviews in Trip Advisor.
We arrived late in the afternoon, checked in, then asked for a dinner recommendation. The desk clerk, who also presented herself as a concierge, told us just to walk along the waterfront, and we would find both a restaurant and the Tourist Information Center. When we asked how late the information center was open, she said that they stayed open at least till 8. We took her advice, and found a closed information center closed (at 5). The restaurants we had to choose from on the waterfront were noisy, crowded, or very formal. Since all we wanted after a day of traveling was a nice, quiet pub, we kept prowling the waterfront, and finally ended up at a steak/sushi place, which was OK, but not what we were looking for.
The next day, we spoke to another staff member, who did give us excellent recommendations both for restaurants and the Harbor Hopper tour, which we found enjoyable and informative. The pub she recommended, where we ate that evening, was exactly what we wanted, and only two blocks away.
We do not understand why this establishment could not supply a list of restaurants, and, perhaps, even menus to peruse. This is a common practice, and should not be so very difficult.
In addition, while our room way clean and charming, the balcony off the room was dirty. There was leaf litter on it, which may have been excusable, since it was September. In addition, there was a wad of used tissues which, after exposure to the elements, was firmly ground into the surface. We requested cleaning on our first night, but the cleaning was never done (we stayed three nights).
The continental breakfast was so-so. The breads were fresh and tasty, and there was a toaster. The breakfast rooms were small, and crowded. The staff tried to hustle to keep up, but it did not compare well to Hampton Inn.
The location was a bit of a walk, and the neighborhood appears to be struggling. It would certainly have been worth the walk if the accommodations had been worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I totally agree with Mersonfanclub and bmv1974, First of all, there are several buildings; we stayed in the one farthest from the building you check into. That was a mistake for us. The stairs in our building were not only steep and winding (which we were prepared for-it is historic and old) but there are stairs leading up to the entry of the last of the buildings without a railing (very dangerous - the stairs would be extremely slippery after rain,snow, etc or even a simple mistep) which are steep and there is a very heavy door to pull open before you even enter the building. One of you has to hold the door open while the other brings the luggage up into the narrow entry. It is also very difficult to park near by so you can check in. Breakfast included was adequate. While, it was very charming and the location was good, We would not return.

Room Tip: We assume the rooms in the Main or 1st Building would be better and take the ground floor unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halliburtonHalifax, Owner at The Halliburton, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you to this guest for submitting their comments regarding their recent stay with us. I regret that they felt their room was difficult to access. We do our best to inform guests about the unique nature of our heritage townhouses. We also always offer assistance with luggage, directions, etc.

I would like to correct the assumption proposed that the rooms in any of our three townhouses might be "better" than others. All of our rooms are unique in size and layout. In fact our Lithgow house (farthest) has our largest rooms with highest ceilings.

In my 21 years as owner/manager, this is the first negative comment I have had about the "winding" nature of our beautiful stairways. They are no steeper than stairways in similar heritage buildings. Just lots of them, so yes, not for the faint of heart.

The entrance steps to our Lithgow House (4 of them) are 6 feet wide, have adhesive traction strips and are painted with a special no-slip paint containing silica sand. We feel these steps are very safe.

All of this stated, guests who are weary of lots of steps and staircases should carefully consider the nature and layout of the hotel they choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Address: 5184 Morris Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halliburton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.