We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Nova Scotian to your Saves list
The Westin Nova Scotian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is one of the old railway hotels and is conveniently situated next door to the railway station to which it is connected by an internal corridor not far from the check-in desk. The rooms are average for a hotel of this type and age - our one had a good view of the ships in port and a fairly small bathroom which was in need of some updating. The bed was comfortable and there was a large walk-in closet with space to store our three suitcases and a safe. There are only a couple of elevators and they can be quite slow to arrive and often full if you happen to hit a popular check-out time. The location of the hotel is very good and is only a short walk from the downtown core and is near to the popular boardwalk with it's restaurants and shops. Overall, a decent place to stay in Halifax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We appreciate you staying with us and writing a review on your stay. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and stunning views. We want to thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    332
    191
    91
    49
See reviews for
198
367
73
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel almost every year for the past 41 years it's time I wrote a review. It was originally a Canadian National Hotel from 1929 to the early 1970s, then an independent, then Hilton, then after a few years of being closed it re-opened in the 1990s as a Westin. Being next to the railway station with an internal connection thanks to its origin as a CN hotel was its initial attraction on our first stay. It is across the street from the Pier 20, 21, 22 complex so a harbour-side room gives fabulous views of ships. But it's not just the location that appeals to us. It is well-maintained with very friendly staff. The restaurant (Elements) has friendly service and serves good meals, including an excellent reasonably-priced buffet breakfast. The original 1929 wing has some rooms of different size and shape as you would expect of an older hotel. The new wing (1950s) has identical-sized rooms except for the occasional suite. All have been modernised yet again. There is a free shuttle (one-way) to downtown - or uptown would be more accurate. This year it was a Lincoln Town car. Most of our friends walked to and from the centre core - about 15 to 20 minutes depending on route. I recommend the boardwalk route. Our "group" consisted of 11 friends and spouses and we occupied six rooms, some in the old and some in the new wing. The $30/day surcharge for a guaranteed harbour view is worth it, although quite often people get the view rooms without paying for them.

Nothing is perfect, but I have only two complaints, which would apply to our past few visits as well. A few years ago the restaurant was redecorated and the lovely light wood panelling was painted white. To me that is unforgivable. But soon enough wood will come back in style and a designer will scrape off the paint. In recent years there has been no rubber bath-mat. One can be obtained on request, of course, but this safety device is necessary when showering in the slippery tubs. This time I forgot to ask housekeeping for one so each morning we used a hand-towel as a substitute.

Room Tip: If you like ships, book a harbour-view room on a high floor (usually a $30 surcharge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us time and time again at the Westin Nova Scotian. We are honoured to be your hotel of choice in Halifax for the past 41 years. We appreciate your feedback and review about the history, upgrades, guestrooms and services of our heritage property. We are absolutely delighted to hear such positive comments from a truly loyal guest of the Nova Scotian.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable stay.

Until next time,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this conveniently located hotel when on a bus tour of the Maritimes. The lobby smells like a department store perfume section and it turns out they have a spraying machine which scents the reception area with the White Tea aroma of their bathroom amenity products. In contrast, the halls and the hotel rooms stink from stale cigarette smoke and age. I know because I was in 3 different rooms Other members of our tour also noticed the smell.

While staff members from reception desk to maintenance are friendly, helpful and welcoming and the breakfast buffet is excellent that is not enough to compensate for the unpleasant smell of the guest rooms!

Elevator service is also inadequate. There are 3 main elevators but only 2 were in operation during the 2 days I was there. There is a third "pool elevator" but on the guest floors it is located in a back corridor which makes me feel somewhat uncomfortable about personal safety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. On behalf of the Westin team, we want to apologize for your less than expected experience. In regards to your room concerns, we would encourage you to contact us with the room numbers, so we can look into this immediately as this is not a typical experience. We are a non-smoking property and we want to ensure proper follow-up about your concerns.

We hope to hear from you soon. In future stays should you have any concerns at all, please do not hesitate to speak with us while on property so we can assist you immediately.

Kind Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for a few days for a business conference and since I was traveling with my family, location was very important. As we were traveling with a baby we had made a few requests upon booking and not one thing was provided upon check-in.

The worst part was that our bar fridge didn't work, (which was needed to store the milk for the baby). It took several requests and about half a day before a mini-fridge was brought up. However, this fridge had to sit in the room (not in the usual spot reserved for the bar fridge), so this made the already small room even smaller.

The rooms were dated and small. The bathroom was especially small, where the door would close on its own and the toilet was really loud. We stayed on the fourth floor and heard some sort of lounge music during the evenings. The bed was also hard and there was a lean to the centre of the bed.

The staff service was also inconsistent. When requesting a taxi for the next morning the front staff told us to do this the next morning, saying that we had to ask the porters. The next morning the front service staff were more than happy to get a taxi for us. It seemed that the level of service we received depended on who we spoke to.

I also was surprised to learn that there was no free WiFi in the hotel rooms. It seemed like any sort of service was nickle-and-dimed, which was surprising for what seemed like a higher-end hotel.

While the room had a nice view of the harbour, I certainly would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and for the issues you experienced during your visit. We want to assure you that this is not a typical Westin Nova Scotian experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns and encourage you to contact us directly.

We hope to speak with you soon.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked this hotel for a one night stay after a late flight into Halifax. I was not impressed. I was totally put off by the $22.00 charge to park the car. The rooms were comfortable but in need of updating. The layout of our floor was very stange and maze like. Breakfast was good. I must say that every employee that I had contact with was very freindly, cheerful and helpful. However there was nothing remarkable enough to warrant me saying that I would make sure to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. We're pleased to hear you received friendly service. Our sincerest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We would encourage you to contact us to discuss your concerns in further detail.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for a true Westin experience.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having just read all the negative reviews,I wanted to add a positive one.
When I arrived,I asked if it was possible to have a waterfront view.
The young lady at the desk was very helpful,even tried to to retrieve my old Starwoods card.
The room had a lovely view of the harbour. It was renovated and very pleasant.
The toiletries were high quality and there was a thick terry robe in the closet.
The concierge staff were extremely helpful as was everyone whom I encountered.
The pool area was very nice and clean with lots of towels.
The towels in the bathroom were thick and high quality as were the bed linens.
The room was spotless.
I had trouble with my computer,not allowing the hotel WiFi and the young man at the desk came right up and had it sorted out in a minute.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was not at all disappointed in this Westin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take pride in our Halifax hospitality and we're delighted that you received exception service while staying with us. We have a team of dedicated staff and we're happy to hear we able to rectify your wifi issues immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian for two nights, mid-week, towards the end of September. This hotel is conveniently located and the staff were very friendly, which were the two best things about our stay. Unfortunately we were kept awake into the early hours of the morning (1 am) by fellow guests talking in their own rooms each evening. It was hard to hold the fellow guests accountable as they were not partying but merely talking and/or watching TV, so we commented to the front desk about the noise when we checked out. The lack of soundproofing is the culprit. In addition to the noise, the housekeeping raised an eyebrow. Dirty linens from the previous guest had been left under the ottoman in our room and the mini bar fridge was full of dried spills. We took our little one down to the pool area but did not stay in for too long as it was also in need of a good scrub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're happy to hear you received friendly service from our staff and enjoyed our convenient location. We want to apologize for the cleanliness issues you experience in your guestroom. We have spoken with Housekeeping to ensure proper due diligence so we can avoid similar situations in the future.

We hope to welcome you back again for a true Westin Nova Scotian experience.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of this beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Nova Scotian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.