We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Nova Scotian to your Saves list
The Westin Nova Scotian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff make the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here again at this hotel this time over Christmas we live out side the city and family in all in town here. I was up graded to a suit which was a nice present. When my wife went to use the whirl pool tub in the room, there was a problem, we called the front desk, they sent up a maintenance guy, who apologized and fixed the problem with the tap very quickly and was very nice and talk to us about the problem and talked about our stay. Which was all we could ask, then he personally showed back up in about 15 min, with a nice bottle of wine for my wife and my self as a gift for our inconvenience. Very nice touch. Every one we encountered was smiling and talking to us they seamed to like to work there even thought it was Christmas day and they were working. We went to there Christmas day brunch was well as about 1000 other people from Halifax, wow what a spread , the way it was laid out made it not to hard to get lots of food of all sorts even though there was so many people there. I think we will be back next year, great rates over the holidays!

Room Tip: Suite with whirl pool tub and a walk out balcony is the bomb especially if there is a smoker or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you received such friendly and welcoming service from all our staff. We are proud of Maritime hospitality at the Nova Scotian.

Our Christmas Day Brunch is a huge hit and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed the selection of items. We apologize for the concerns with your whirlpool; however, we’re happy we were able to rectify the issue in a prompt manner.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for another memorable Westin Nova Scotian experience.

Kind Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    331
    191
    91
    49
See reviews for
198
366
73
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We ended up at the Westin by booking on Priceline. Had an early appointment at one of the city's hospitals and found this hotel very convenient to stay at. I was escorting my mom in law, who had a handicapped pass for her car and we parked in the back right next to the doors.
Check in was quick and courteous. Our room was on the sixth floor, facing the city and a lovely view. Room was very clean. I especially liked the toiletries with a white tea scent. On check in, I called over to the restaraunt with a request for a pureed meal for my mother in law. Staff was very helpful and willing to do whatever it took to satisfy her dietary requirements. Beds were lovely and nice linens.
We walked down the the restaurant, which was not very busy at 5:30 in the evening. Staff was courteous and prompt. The bread "brioche" was amazing. Cooked in a can and delivered that way to your table. I had a steak and my mother in law had a sea food chowder that was blended down to puree.
I had a swim in the pool and a soak in the hot tub before bed. There was also a gym adjacent to the pool.
The night was quiet. Lots of hot water. Bathroom was small, but well outfitted. Check out was quick.
We both had a good night and arrived at our appointment rested.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We are proud of our hospitality at the Westin Nova Scotian and I’m delighted to hear that our staff were pleased to accommodate your requests.

We’re happy you enjoyed your dining experience at elements on hollis, our hotel restaurant, and your relaxing evening in the pool and whirlpool. Our Westin signature scent is White Tea and can be found in our Westin toiletries and products.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I'm originally from Halifax, but live away. We came home for the holidays, so good to be home. Very impressed with the Hotel, I remember this hotel as a little girl I believe it was Called the Hotel Nova Scotia, my father worked for Via rail so I would visit all the time. the rooms are small but cozy, I had a great view of the city I love. Very Happy and would come back for sure.

thanks Rene :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Welcome home and thank you for staying with us at the Westin Nova Scotian. Our historic hotel is part of many great stories and we’re pleased to be a part of yours. We’re happy you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent Christmas day swimming in the pool and walking around the waterfront of Halifax. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Was disappointed with the noise coming from the pool elevator. Ask not to be put near the loud elevator.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Nova Scotian. We’re happy to hear you had a wonderful holiday at our historic hotel. We’re pleased you enjoyed our indoor, heated pool and our convenient location next to the Halifax Boardwalk. We apologize for the noise concerns and feel free to contact us directly to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Lovely hotel, great location to everything downtown, or to the universities.
King size bed, smaller bathroom, but spotless.
Check in was easy, self parking is a bit of a pain - the spaces seemed small for our Dodge Grand Caravan. If we had used Valet, that would have been painless:)
Once you pull in at the front, parking is then around the back of the hotel, but the lot is easily accessible from the lower floor to the parking lot (via elevators)
Pool is clean, and pleasant. Hot tub is hot.
Spent an afternoon at the onsite spa - mani, pedi, massage, hair and makeup. Fabulous.
Food Catering in the Atlantic Ballroom for the business trips we've stayed here for is consistently hot, plentiful and delicious.
Room service meals were fast, and hot - egss benny was really very good :)
Terrific stays, and looking forward to our next one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have stayed at almost every hotel in the area and decided to try the Westin. I am actually a little bit disappointed with our choice to be honest. Although a very nice hotel, the front desk staff is clearly lacking. Individuals in the room next to ours were smoking and having a party at one in the morning. You would think that by calling the front desk such an issue would be resolved promptly, however this was not the case. It took two different phone calls for the front desk to finally send security to the room. I understand it was the night time and staff may have been low, but waiting until two in the morning and having to smell smoke for the rest of our staff is not very enjoyable and most definitely not expected from a four star hotel. I can honestly say I have never experienced this from a hotel before and not to have offered another room just proves the quality of the staff. I am very surprised that with such an issue of safety the staff did not seem very compelled to do anything at all. Again, other than that the hotel was very nice and has a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for not meeting your service expectations while staying with us at the Westin Nova Scotian; this is not indicative of our Westin standards. We appreciate your comments and we will follow up with the employee who received your call to ensure similar situations are handled properly.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for a true Westin Nova Scotian experience.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

Great stay. Very clean hotel. Great room. Quiet. Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We’re happy that you enjoyed our historic downtown Halifax hotel overlooking the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of this beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Nova Scotian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.