We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Details, and Cleaniness... Heavenly BEDS!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Prince George Hotel to your Saves list
Prince George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service, Details, and Cleaniness... Heavenly BEDS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Having gone from coast to coast in 4 weeks, I was starting to hate staying in Hotels because the staff of most of the hotels (all 3 stars or higher) we stayed at really didn't give a crap about our experience.

BUT with the Prince George Hotel at every occasion their staff stepped up to deliver our request and in many insists went above and beyond.

For example, at 1 am my wife had a craving for strawberries, so I called down to the Room Service, naturally it was NOT on the limited late room service menu. What the attendant did was incredible, she called back 2 minutes later stating she would bring up a small bowl of strawberries at no charge! Saving me not just the money, but having to get out of bed and find some 24 hour grocery store to satisfy my wife's request.

Oh I gotta share with you about the BEDS! The linens and mattress are of the highest quality, lying over the sheets and duvet feels like lying in between two slabs of cloud. WARNING, you may not want to leave your bed and sleep in, so be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    305
    87
    28
    22
See reviews for
226
475
65
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

At $175 per night in off season is a bit expensive. However the service was very good and the location is great (walking distance to the citadel and down town. Being the top rated hotel in Halifax, I expected a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

My wife & I decided to visit our son who is studying for a year at Dalhousie University in Halifax. We like good hotels & fortunately are able to afford the best. When selecting a hotel to stay at in Halifax, we were not particularly inspired by any of the ones on offer in particular. It was a toss up between the Prince George & a Marriott, as we are not great fans of Marriotts we plumped for the Prince George. It was surprisingly good, with an excellent room on the top floor, which is a slightly dearer option. The Hotel was spotless, the service excellent & the restaurant was exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Stayed at the Prince George over Labour Day weekend 2008. Fantastic location right downtown!! We could walk to restaurants. Convenient parking underground.

Rooms were very nice - comfortable beds and very clean.

The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast and the food was really good - but the service was exceptionally slow that day.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this strategically-placed hotel for three fabulous nights in freezing February and were very satisfied with it.

We had a Crown Room on the sixth floor at a very reasonable price, which was very large, quiet and immaculate, from the incredibly comfortable bed to the contemporary-looking chairs, table and desk, all in perfect condition. We are not TV people when on holiday, but there was a large flat-screen TV that we could have enjoyed if we had liked to. The bathroom was compact, but did not lack anything and was extremely clean (which is normal, but I am pointing this out as other reviewers seem not to have been as lucky). It had two washbasins carved in dark granite, complete with Aveda products; the bath tub could have been a little more modern as to its material, but functioned perfectly. We appreciated the free internet availability in the room, the turn-down service and the free bottles of water provided every day. There was also a good choice of snacks and drinks and in-room breakfast included, although we preferred going downstairs to The Terrace breakfast room (at an extra charge), purely because we always found it more pleasant, and not because we found any fault in the offer.

The breakfast menu downstairs was very imaginative and varied, food quality was high and the staff helpful, smiling and always making suggestions and offering more of this or of that.

Hotel service in general was excellent and all the staff knew and remembered our surname. We found the concierge informative and very polite and friendly and the reception staff and bell boys very efficient as well.

The hotel décor was very pleasant, especially in the lobby, with rugs and marbles and the feel of a deluxe boutique hotel. We noticed that a lot of people, probably businessmen, checked in, but they did not disturb us at any time. We could also use the downstairs internet room to do our online check-in, which was handy and speedy.
We highly recommend this hotel. For Gio (also recommended!), see separate review.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I had booked a romantic getaway package and requested fruit/cheese plate & choc dipped strawberries to be in the room upon arrival. We were booked on the Crown floor which is apparently the "top of the line" rooms. The front desk service was exceptional so I was really looking forward to seeing our suite.On the way up in the elevator, a staff member asked what floor and we said 6. He commented how nice it was there so we thought this is going to be amazing.
The room was "just average," I have been in much nicer for 2/3 the price. My requests for the room ( cheese plate etc) were not there. The drapery rod was in a u-shape as it was coming out of the ceiling in 3 spots, the bathroom ceiling was peeling paint all over, 2 bulbs were burnt out in the bathroom, the towel rack was coming off the wall on one side, bathroom counter dirty with red stains, very dusty above bathroom lights and dirty around floor moulding with very very chipped floor tiles in bathroom. The furniture in the room was very dated with lots of " touched up" wood filler covering marks etc. The shower is definitely designed for shorter people as I am 5'9 and had to bend my knees to get under the showerhead. In addition, had to call for my cheese plate etc after an hour as I had heard nothing from room service and when it was delivered, no plates, cutlery or napkins. I had to call the conceirge desk again to request they be delivered as well. If this is #1 for Halifax, what a disappointment for tourists......stay somewhere else.Cambridge Suites is a nicer hotel and a better price.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Did not meet #1 Halifax Hotel expectations at all
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

There were a few really great things about the hotel- the bed was really nice, great service and friendly staff. However, the bathroom was small and not even close to being romantic- the counter was dirty and the tiny shampoo, mouthwash, and conditioner were open and used in the sink :-( I would recommend going elsewhere if you are looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.