We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince George Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prince George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$169 and FREE Parking
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A fantastic hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

From all perspectives, my stay at the Prince George Hotel was fantastic.The staff, room, parking, and amenities all contributed to an exceptional experience. As a frequent traveller, it's great to find hotels like this which satisfy both business and personal travel requirements. In this case my stay was for business, but the hotel will definitley be my choice as well for personal travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much Dan H - hopefully we will see you early (and often) through 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    210
    58
    20
    9
See reviews for
135
294
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stay at The Prince George Hotel in Halifax for business several time each year. We are always pleased. The location is great, the rooms are very comfortable and the staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year DWMc2013 and thank you very much for staying with us. I hope we can welcome you home very soon. Best wishes for an amazing 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

During our trip to Eastern Canada, we stayed at such highly touted places as the Queen Elizabeth in Montreal and the Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City. St. George was clearly superior to both.
Comfortable, relaxing and friendly. If we return to Halifax, this is the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
WOW - thank you Bob R for the kind comparisons. Those are great hotels you mentioned and we appreciate you including us in that group. See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I just stayed a couple of nights at this well located Halifax hotel. I had stayed here about 18 months ago, and liked it. It was even better this time.. Why? The double room we had looked updated and was fresh and nice. The breakfast area was definitely redone. We paid a very reasonable price and not only was wi fi included, but so was free parking. Service was friendly and helpful. My only advice is to not bother paying extra for the Crown rooms on the top floor. Not worth the premium in my opinion. I think this must be one of the best places to stay in Halifax.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We did just finish renovating our breakfast room and a portion of our lobby but the best is yet to come Flunie. By the end of May we will have a new lobby (with a bar in it) and a refresh of all refreshes of our guest rooms. I hope you get to enjoy them again. When are you coming back Flunie? We will have a room waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Corner, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is everything that one could want. We got a gorgeous room and had a minor problem with the hot water tap in the tub. Maintenance came and had it fixed within 15 min. Very impressive! Every detail is looked after. The city lights at night were beautiful. I will definitely be back. If it's possible to say anything negative then a microwave in the room, but I bet if I had asked, they would have brought one up. But I don't want to split hairs. I can't comment on the spa as I didn't take advantage.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a lovely, quiet room then 4th floor and up is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We would absolutely bring a microwave to you room Faustina W - next time just let us know and we will have one waiting for you in your 4th floor room. Thank you for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigonish,nova scotia canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our anniversary.We enjoyed everything about this hotel.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The room was clean and well equipped.Excellent!!!!!
The Prince George is also located in the center of the city,very close to many attractions.There are a couple of live theaters nearby,that are great.If you feel like going over to casino nova scotia,you can walk over there,without going out side.This is great especially when it is raining or snowing outside.Also a good way to get a little exercise in,while not worrying about the weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - I hope we can make this an annual thing junebug57..... see you next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at the Prince George Hotel to attend a conference at the Conference Center which you can reach through a passage underground. This hotel is Top Notch. Enjoyed a great meal at Gio, wow, the service, the wine, the food the atmosphere made our evening very special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
And so you should be treated like royalty denysed! Thank you for letting us be the one to look after you while staying in Halifax - we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.