We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince George Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prince George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$169 and FREE Parking
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is a nice hotel with standard amenities. Be prepared for a large construction project next door. It wasn't noisy where I was located it is something to keep in mind. Restaurant was good. Room service was quick and the food fresh. Parking is available and entrance is the opposite side of the building's hotel entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
That large hole bseide us Roy M is going to be Nova Centre..... it is going to be awesome and we are super lucky that we have a very professional developer who cares about us..... noise has been minimal to nonexistant and we are truly thankful for that. Thanks for staying with us on your visit to Halifax. Great city wouldn't you say?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    210
    58
    20
    9
See reviews for
135
294
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The Prince George is a large comfortable hotel in a good central location for visiting all the sites around Halifax harbour. It is a little impersonal compared to staying at a small boutique hotel, with a lot of business conference and wedding customers. But when we needed to ask for help Customer Services was excellent. Breakfast was not included so we adventured out each morning to find a different place each time. Recommended places to eat include the Wooden Monkey close by and the Bicycle Thief on the harbour front. We were glad to have gone whale watching even though it turned out to be watching for whales rather than watching whales!
A lovely, friendly city to visit and another impressive slice of Canadian life.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Jonathan P you really should have tried our breakfast restaurant - The Terrace. It is absolutely fantastic and my favorite is "Bacon 3-ways"...... It is can't miss. Hopefully we can welcome you back again when your travels bring you back to YHZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travel to Halifax once a year. We tried other hotels in Halifax (Westin, both Deltas...)before we tried the Prince George. The staff is fantastic. And the rooms are spacious and so very clean. We prefer the 5th floor. We traveled before our son and now with our son. Either as a family or couple we had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
From a not-so-cool-70's-guy ...... thank you Cool80sGirl. What took you so long to try us? Matters not at this point I guess because hopefully now we have you for a very long time.... at least we will do our best to make sure you always feels special when staying with us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Prince George Hotel two nights last week while we were visiting Halifax. What a special treat! The hotel staff were extremely interested in making our stay perfect, the furnishings were exquisite, and the entire experience was very memorable for us. I would highly recommend the Prince George!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you PamGaddy (and husband) for staying with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed yourself and we appreciate the kind shout out. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Prince George is very conveniently located in the heart of downtown Halifax, just steps from great restaurants, shops, historic sites, museums, and the waterfront. The lobby and public areas are lovely and well-decorated. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and beautifully appointed. Loved the modern glass shower enclosure! Staff was attentive and professional, and eager to help. The breakfast buffet was very good, with something for every taste. Would recommend highly!

Room Tip: Our room at the very end of the hall was very quiet, with a nice view of the city and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Ok Mary L....... So when are you coming back? (Ifeel like Betty White & the California commercials asking that)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Over the years, we have stayed in many hotels in downtown Halifax and consistently come back to the Prince George as we did on a recent trip in late June 2013. Unfortunately it isn't cheap and sometimes the extra cost can make it our second choice when several of the other Halifax hotels come in with a much better deal. Still, it is the best and most convenient place in the downtown and was again thoroughly enjoyable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms well laid out and clean and the location is close to most of the attractions, bars and restaurants in Halifax. The internet works well and the parking is convenient although tight for a larger car and not cheap. We have never eaten in the hotel since there are some many nearby choices. Obviously, the higher rooms are nicer and if on the backside of the hotel, there is a view of the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
OK WestCoastJohn&Jane.... you gotta try our restaurant GIO the next time you stay with us (which we hope is soon ....... with no other visits to the competition in between - lol) or if your stay includes a Sunday you MUST try our Sunday Brunch...... it is absolutely the best in the city and I promise you will not leave with an empty belly. Thank you for continuing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed there for a family vacation. It is right downtown, and a block away from seeing the citadel. In a year, when they build a conference center across the street, it will be booked solid I'm sure.

It was nothing special - clean, quiet, excellent, helpful staff - what I'd expect in any hotel. It was close to downtown, so I could walk and see some of the sites. Parking was $22/day + tax, and there was free wi fi.

They have a nice little pool that opens out to a little courtyard. I should've had lunch out there - there are tables and it's nice up there.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We hope so pw0867....we sure do hope. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.