We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prince George Hotel to your Saves list
Prince George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 and FREE Parking
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Prince George Hotel. The hotel room was very comfortable and quite spacious. There was a small refrigerator in the room, which was empty. I wish more hotels would provide this. It makes traveling with food allergies so much easier. The staff was helpful and friendly. Internet was free and reliable. Room service was prompt and the food was very tasty. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was hit and miss. I would recommend the buffet over other items on the menu. Nice that coffee and tea were included in the price of breakfast. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Breakfast is such an important part of an excellent hotel stay - and we appreciate your comments as "hit or miss" is just not good enough for us! Our newly renovated breakfast restaurant will be opening soon and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    282
    82
    26
    17
See reviews for
198
420
62
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A friend and I booked a room at the Prince George Hotel back in March to attend a friend’s Bachlorette party that was in downtown Halifax. Thanks to Hotwire we got another great deal. Everything was ok… but for being one of the better hotels in Halifax, I was a bit disappointed in the room – we booked the “Deluxe Guest Room”. Our room was ok… it was "average" and on the small side. The décor could have been more modern (I found it dark). I’m sure if we had upgraded to a better room (the Crown Service Room or the suites) the décor would have been much nicer. But since we weren’t planning on being in the room other than to sleep, we decided not to upgrade. It was ok for the price we paid, but for rates above $175/night I would expect more from an upscale hotel. The housekeeping could also have been better. When getting ready to leave the next day and doing the regular check around the room to make sure we didn’t leave any items behind, we found Smarties under both beds (we didn’t eat any Smarties, so we don’t know how long they had been there)!

On the plus side the location can’t be beat… you are in the heart of downtown Halifax and close to all restaurants and bars. The beds and pillows were clean comfortable, and it was great that there was a small fridge in the room to keep beverages or leftovers cold. Their hair and body products are really good too, left my hair feeling great. Instead of having small bottles like most hotels they have pumps in the shower so you always have enough. The pool, hot tub, and sauna are really nice too, it was great relaxing in them before checkout. Overall we had a good stay and I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks so much for writing such a detailed review - I really appreciate your comments. We are continuing to refurbish our property and there are some exciting changes ahead so I do hope you will stay with us again. Thanks for choosing The Prince George for your bachelorette party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First time I stayed here. Been to Halifax many times and used all of the downtown hotels. This is probably the best location. Close to everything and the walk is easier than climbing the hill all the time. The restaurant Gio is very good. Most hotels restaurants are not great, this one was surprising. The rooms were nice, good bed, free Internet, my main requirements. The staff was friendly. I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are delighted to read your comments. We are very proud of our 4 Diamond restaurant, gio - so thanks for the mention! Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are decent and always clean. Nice location close to the Citadel (get the 5th floor on the west side). It's Halifax, so you are walking distance to almost anything a business traveller or tourist would do. Good food, decent service. Wifi is good and free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for the positive review! The Prince George is certainly central to everything Halifax! An exciting year for The Prince George as we continue to renovate and refurbish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week recently and The Price George quickly became comfortable like home. There is an excellent, really gourmet adjoining restaurant and even though the breakfast area was under construction, it was probably the most ship shape construction zone I have ever seen. I'm sure the carpenters must have been ship builders or something, you could see the way they were building was first rate, excellent materials, and so tidy. Pretty good gym and pool looked nice but was always full of kids. Obviously a great place to take a family. Friendly staff, really well soundproofed rooms -- in fact the big construction zone below could hardly be heard.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the huge construction project across the road because the rooms are really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
When you stay here for a week, you really get a good feel for the hotel! Wow - thanks for mentioning the "ship shape" construction ...just a few finishing touches and the room will be ready to go. The new Nova Centre site is right next door and we can't wait to see the final product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staff makes this hotel the place to stay in Halifax. The front desk staff Alex and Pima are the best. At the end of a long day its nice to check in and find someone friendll and accomadating. Love staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Feels like home is the best compliment we can every receive. And thanks for your "shout outs" which have been passed along to Alex and Pema!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very well-run property in a good location in Halifax. Close to the entrance to the Citadel and only a block away from the entertainment district, its very convenient and quiet to sleep. There is a nice restaurant that seems to be used a lot for banquets and special events. Parking was a breeze, plus its free on the street on the weekends or evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and glad you appreciated our great location. We are centrally located in the downtown area but with easy access to surrounding buildings and the waterfront via a covered link - very useful when the weather is not cooperating! Our Four Diamond restaurant, Gio, does tend to be very popular for special events prior to Christmas; however, during the rest of the year, it is our very eclectic restaurant serving lunch, cocktails, dinner and everything in between, with the occasional private party (so reservations are always recommended).
Thanks again for your TripAdvisor feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.