We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Excellent Service, Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Prince George Hotel to your Saves list
Prince George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Excellent Service, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 46th wedding anniversary by taking a train trip across Canada that included two-day stops in Victoria, Vancouver, Kamloops (fortunately only 1 night), Banff, Lake Louise, Jasper, Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City and Halifax. As we set up the trip we decided take the Rocky Mountaineer lux tourist train from Vancouver to Banff, Via Rail’s ‘Canadian’ from Jasper to Toronto and Via Rail’s “Ocean” train from Quebec City to Halifax. We were checked into the Crown Service floor of the Prince George Hotel without any problems and everything went very smoothly. We found the hotel to be right in the heart of the city and very close to many sights of interest. That night we walked the neighborhood and found a nice little restaurant for dinner. Made a walk up the hill the next day to see the Citadel which is only a block away. Breakfast on the Crown Service floor is delivered to the room and was excellent. Lunch the following day was at another nearby restaurant and included some of the best fish and chips we’d eaten. Hotels offer many amenities these days to differentiate themselves from others but you often don’t need but a few. In this case the Prince George provided a computer center where I was able to print out tickets to attend a major entertainment event. Though I purchased the tickets on-line I’d have been dead in the water without a printer connected to an internet capable computer. Thanks Prince George. Five Stars and an A for the Crown Service Floor.
If I were booking this trip again I’d make a point of planning a stop during the first week in July just to attend the Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo. It was a remarkable event which included about 1500 performers including bagpipe bands, military bands, step dancers, choirs, etc. And it’s helpful that the Prince George is right across from the Event Center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Happy Anniversary! It sounds as if you had a wonderful journey across Canada and I was delighted to learn that your final destination was Halifax. Thanks so much for writing such a thorough and positive review on TripAdvisor. We love Tattoo Week here at The Prince George - the City is full of music, bagpipes and marchings bands and the Nova Scotia International Tatt is a world class event with sell out crowds every year.

Thanks again for your great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    305
    87
    28
    22
See reviews for
226
475
65
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here while attending a function at the WTCC. The hotel is conveniently located to the convention centre via an undergroud pedway, so pefect for staying dry out of the rain. The room was well appointed and quiet. The wireless was spotty in the room...painfully slow sometimes, while blazing fast at other times. In room wireless is complimentary. Only had one meal in the hotel ( the breakfast buffet) but it was very good. Only issue was trying to get a replacement iron in the room...it took over an hour and several phone calls to replace our faulty iron. Our first stay won't be our last.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
The Downtown Link is invaluable during rainy weather in Halifax - and very convenient if you are attending a conference or meeting at the World Trade & Convention Centre.

I do apologize for the "spotty" wireless connection - but thanks so much for reporting this as we really need to know if it is not working efficiently throughout the hotel. Sorry too for the delay in getting an iron to you - certainly not our usual standard.

Thanks again for the feedback and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we got out of our car we felt welcomed and taken care of by the staff. Our room was lovely, clean, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the two arm chairs, desk and ample drawer space. We plan to come back to Halifax and would not consider staying anywhere else!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for mentioning the warm welcome you received! Glad that everything went so well.
It's nice to know that you would not stay anywhere else in Halifax. Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in September and can only say that everything was perfect (except the weather) - the room was very clean and spacious with a view of the water and the beds were extremely comfortable

All staff including the cleaners and maintenance staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble - special praise to Andy and Darren who were especially helpful

Will definitely stay again when visiting family close by

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and have forwarded your kind compliments on to Darren (Guest Services) and Andy (Concierge).

So many guests rave about our beds - the key to an good hotel stay!!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was at the Prince George for a meeting. Halifax isn't a place you go to accidentally. Once you are there, you are really there. That said, its a nice destination. Its a shame it is so far away from the central part of North America. Whether in Canada or the US, its a long way to drive and expensive to fly there.

This hotel was where our meeting was and the room rate was set. I have to say I was very satisfied with the hotel. The bedding was very comfortable. The bed was like a giant pillow that just floated under you. Everything about the guest room I stayed in was first rate.

My only complaint would be the breakfast buffet. The food was very Canadian. That isn't bad, its just a little different and for the most part great, but things like sausage and ham have a different taste to them. Also, the lady who was cooking the omelets was a real space cadet. She would take you order for an omelet and then take 20 minutes to bring it to your table. Not sure what her issues were, but her services were lacking and her customer service skills were not very good.

Overall, this is a great hotel. Its not too far from the harbor, It is a short 4 or 5 blocks downhill to the boardwalk. The bad part is that its a long 4 to 5 block walk up the same hill! After a few days you legs will get a real workout! That isn't bad, its just a fact! There are other hotels closer to the boardwalk and maybe if I go back to Halifax I might try one of those, but this hotel is a great hotel to stay at.

And on the conference room facility, they had a great conference room. Their conference food was really good too so if you are planning on having a conference here, you will have a great experience!

Room Tip: There are harbor side room, but the views are mostly blocked by downtown buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
So glad that you had the opportunity to visit Halifax! Thanks so much for the review - this is a great destination and more and more people are discovering the Maritimes as a whole! Delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation and the location of The Prince George. Yes, the uphill climb can be a bit of a work-out if you are not used to it - but we have the Downtown Link which is a covered walkway connecting the downtown office buildings, World Trade & Convention Centre and right down to the waterfront - so this can help you to avoid some of the hills, especially in winter weather!

Your comments on the breakfast buffet are noted - and welcomed. Breakfast is such an important part of the day - and we are striving to make it top notch!

Thanks again for the feedback and I do hope that your travels will enable you to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable, but what I noticed most was how genuinely friendly all the staff were. For the few challenges that occurred during our stay, the staff were quick to fix any problems. I recommend that you choose a package that provides a meal voucher and/or parking.

Room Tip: Bay side would be nice as opposed to the parking lots across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for the excellent comments regarding our staff and service! I was delighted to learn that you left with such a positive impression of the hotel. The package you mention is our "Perfect Escape" which includes guestroom, parking and a $25 dining credit which many guests use for breakfast. It's a great value and a popular package throughout the year.

Thanks again and hope to welcome you back to The Prince George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Prince George for two nights while in Halifax and just loved it. It's an incredible hotel! Beautifully appointed rooms that were very spacious. It's in a great location as well - you can walk to most points of interests. If you have a chance, try the on-site restaurant, Gio. We had the most incredible meals! The menu doesn't have a huge selection, but the choices are original and so well prepared. Don't miss out on the desserts either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks so much for posting on TripAdvisor, Tara! And special thanks for your review of our Four Diamond restaurant, Gio - I was delighted to learn that you were so impressed. We have a great kitchen team and a loyal clientelle in Halifax.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.