We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short But Sweet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Province House

Province House
1726 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2Y3, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
902-424-4661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 71 attractions in Halifax
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Oldest provincial Parliament building still in use in Canada; a visit to its legislative library is recommended.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Short But Sweet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

There is really only 3 rooms to see: the Red Room, Library and the actual Legislative Assembly. All are worth seeing. There is also an interesting display about Joseph Howe. The tour guide was very knowledgable and fridendly. He answered every question our small group posed to him with authority. Whole thing took about a half hour and is free.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As an American who has visited many U.S. State Capitols, this was a very interesting stop. We were there right before closing, but the guard let us in anyway. It was tiny, compared to any U.S. state house, and yet quite lovely. Just wish I could have seen a live session. So glad we stopped in!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We missed taking a guided tour (offered only in French when we arrived) but the friendly security guard gave us an abbreviated version of what we would learned while we were still in the foyer. You are able to wander through many rooms and even sit in the Speaker's Chair. There is an interesting display on Joseph Howe's freedom of the press fight as well as pictures of royalty.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Short, But Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stopped here while in Halifax, since it was along our general walking path. Security was simple to navigate and it felt like we had the building to ourselves. Don't miss the library, it is beautiful and had interesting architecture. The molding in the red room, was also very beautiful. Would have loved a brochure to better detail what we were looking at.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Definitely spend about an hour visiting Province House, I found it well worth the visit during an impromptu walking tour of Halifax. It's free, and I had an interesting guided tour - she provided a wealth of information regarding the building's architecture, history, process of government, and details of the various material culture and portraits displayed in the building. The interior is stunningly beautiful, especially the legislative library.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Province House also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Province House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Province House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Province House to your Saves list