We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent noodles in Halifax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Anise

Star Anise
1571 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Z7, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
902- 422-2602
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Noodle
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent noodles in Halifax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went with grandkids for lunch and all enjoyed the Pho and other noodle and soup options. Nice break from pub food in downtown. Good service. Clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Solid, fresh tasting food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Found myself here happily munching a fresh tasting bowl of noodles with diced chicken, green salad, carrots and cucumbers. Spring roll was a tad heavy on the oil but came away satisfied with this inexpensive dinner. I needed a quick meal and this was a definite step up from fast food (but still fast and friendly service.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not horrible, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was excited to see Pho after eating Pho in Calgary "Chinatown" so often (interestingly a lot of Vietnamese restaurants in so-called Chinatown). While the food was good, was nothing to what I have been used to. I found the noodles to be poorly done and did taste "store bought". The beef and spring rolls were cooked well but with weak, cold noodles, could not be an enjoyable meal for me. Also as far as pho goes, I found the prices to be rather high. I guess when not a lot of Vietnamese restaurants around, you can be average and pricey.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very tasty meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wow, what a fantastic place. This is a great restaurant with lots of vege options. I had the thus noodle tofu which was delicious. Excellent sized portions too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was craving noodles and this place did not let me down. Reasonably priced and yummy food. I ordered the noodle plate with spring roll and the vegetables were crisp and fresh and the spring roll was crispy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Anise also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Star Anise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Anise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.