We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Next Door Instead” 2 of 5 stars
Review of CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill

CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill
5120 Salter Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
902-429-5120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $34 - $69
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lower Water St
Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go Next Door Instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well, they give you the song and dance about your steak and then drop the ball huge. Steak was ok, could have bought a better cut and cooked it myself or gone to The Keg and not noticed the difference except on my bill.

The staff were friendly and service was good, one side (rice and peas) was microwaved and this was evident from the extreme temp. of the bowl compared to the food inside it as well as the 1/4" of water the rice didn't soak up.

At $7/shrimp in a shrimp cocktail, they shouldn't be dry and flavorless but they were.

Wow, I'm going to assume not a lot of repeat customer's here. Me included!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    35
    32
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Medium rare steak anyone?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not the night I was there. It was what I wanted...and what I ordered, but my steak was medium rare . I really don't like it like that, so I asked if it could be cooked more. The answer was yes, of course. The steak was brought back medium...still not to my liking. I was leary of asking to have it cooked properly, simply because I thought it might get spit on or tossed on the floor, so I didn't eat much of it. The rest of the experience was very good, so I gave them an average rating. Really though, is it all that hard to cook a steak medium well ??

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Service was good. Meal incredibly overpriced for what you got. steaks ok. Nothing spectacular. Will not return

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovaScotia_10
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you like Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not the least expensive restaurant in which I have eaten, but certainly one of the best steakhouses in which I have had the pleasure of dining. Everything from the service to the apps, the entrees and the sides was exceptional. Probably not a place you can afford to east every week but if you want to treat yourself or for a special occasion, this spot should be highly considered

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Steaks undercooked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate down stairs at the Urban Grill. I have previously dined here thought it was great, this time I was disappointed. 4 out of 6 ordered steaks and none were cooked properly; a real disappointment considering steak is their specialty. The service was prompt and friendly; our server even offered free deserts when we expressed our disappointment with the steaks. I will go back but stick with a burger and appetisers and skip the steak.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.