We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill

CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill
5120 Salter Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
902-429-5120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $34 - $69
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lower Water St
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The room's decor was a bit dark and eclectic, having a 70s vibe. Service was pleasant and attentive, but this could have been due to the fact that our party of 13 was the only diners in the restaurant after 8:30 - strange for a Saturday evening. Food was above average and portions were adequate. Desserts were pedestrian at best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    35
    32
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was so disappointed with the quality of the super expense steak that I just had to leave. It was really over priced, tough. They offered to give me another steak but I was so unhappy I left.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Urban Grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to the downstairs part - Urban Grill - for lunch. It was not good. The tables were not cleared away and we were seated next to dirty tables, all around us. We asked that the tables be cleared and cleaned. Took about 20 minutes. Looking around the whole restaurant, most tables had not been cleared up from the earlier diners. Really, really not for me. Don't like looking at other people's leavings. It didn't bother the waitress that we had to make such a request. Finally, we moved the dishes from the tables on either side of us and my husband asked for a cloth to wipe the tables. I can't remember the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Uncomfortably Modern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Like my steak Cut was "medium". 5 colleagues aent out for dinner and drinks. We ate at the lower level of Cut which I would describe "uncomfortably modern" - perhaps upstairs is better. I had free range steak and it was very nicely done veggies were done well too. Appetizer of Calamari was at best a 5/10 so disappointing. As well for a higher end steak restaurant their wine list left a lot to be desired. The banana split crepes were very nicely done with great presentation. The service was excellent, our waitress Holly was very good. Bottom line - good food, great service, but this great city offers so many better choices I will likely bever return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed too!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was staying at the Courtyard and went to the steakhouse. The menu seemed pricey, but I was willing to pay for a good steak. Unfortunately, my 50$ steak was rather tough and did not impress me at all. The chocolate cake was also below average. Bottom line, I'm sure you can get a better steak elsewhere in Halifax.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CUT Steakhouse & Urban Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.