We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to rate; depends on your priorities.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Save Saved
You added Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Halifax B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Difficult to rate; depends on your priorities.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The reviews on this property range from 1 to 5 and after being there I can appreciate the reasons for both. We booked this property with the idea that it was in Halifax which is accurate but it is just off the Bedford Highway and to get to the Halifax waterfront is a 7.5 km drive. For breakfast we had the choice of 0930 or 1000 hrs. Although we had booked a couple of months prior, it was only at check-in that we learned breakfast times were consecutive, and the early times, on which our plans for the day were based, were taken. Our choice was to drop a planned excursion or skip breakfast. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating, and the property is as stated. Not mentioned is a small disappointment - there was a lovely view of the harbour until a few years ago, when a long several-storey condo was built, leaving only an Ocean Glimpse. It is a stately home, and we appreciated the warm welcome. We understand why people love it, with excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Check the location on Google Earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The friendly, helpful and enthusiastic owners, Katherine and Daniel, did the utmost to make us feel at home in their quiet, historic house. People like them make the difference between a nice vacation and a great one. One tip - don't use computer directions, ask the owners how to get there (as the street name was recently changed). Their email address is reservations@ascendence.ca.

Room Tip: The ``Auditor's Room'' on the second floor has a sea view; its bathroom is next door. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

They called me 4 days before my arrival to tell me they were cancelling my 2 months reservation to give to somebody else! The reason was that somebody was staying more than 3 days and they did not have availability. You cannot trust that kind of business! Just to gain some dollars more, they gave trouble to find another place. They told me that they would send me an e-mail to help me find another hotel but I didn't have any news!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Staying here changed my outlook on staying at hotels/motels. This bed and breakfast was so cozy and comfortable. Our 20 month old was made to feel special as well. The owners pay close attention to detail making your stay all that much more special. I highly recommend this as a place to stay and plan on repeat visits myself.

Room Tip: The royal suite is very cozy, comfortable, affordable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I came across this little B&B. Was a little reserved about staying at a B&B, but when coming to Halifax this will be are place to go. The room was so comfortable. The mattress and pillows were perfect. Had a great nights sleep. Breakfast is totally awesome. The people that run the establishment are so personable and friendly. Wonderful people. You need anything and you just need to ask. Gee, they even noticed without me saying anything, that I drank cream in my coffee. They went out that very day when they found that out and bought cream so I could have my coffee the way I liked it. The pay attention to even the smallest detail. It was quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed the stay and like I said this is the place we'll for all our visits to Halifax. Absolutely loved the place, people, rooms, and great location. Close to everything you need to get access to.

Room Tip: The room my husband and I stayed in had two twin beds. Very, very comfortable and clean room. My h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This place like a piece of history with modern tools.
The owners are so gentle. we will stay there when ever we are in Halifax.

Thanks Katherine
Thanks Daniel


Maha and Abdul

Room Tip: they have a amizing room, they called it Royal Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I would not recommend a stay at this b&b, the furnishings are extremely eclectic, nothing is new, much of the furnishing is "second hand". There is minimal parking which is very tight. They charge "top dollar" for a second class accomodation. It is at least a 20min drive to downtown harbourside, where all the attractions are. The owners are not very professional, in that they tell you about their struggles in life and problems they are facing. A very strange experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Address: 24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7 , Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Victorian registered Heritage Property (c1981) . Right in Halifax, by the harbour, only 5 km drive along the water to downtown. ALL Inclusive, ALL Taxes, Deluxe Hot Breakfast, Parking, Wi-Fi, Laptop to use in room, Concierge, Kids Corner, Media room with small library and Business Corner -fax, printer, computer, local calls, Trip Planning - ALL Free! Extras: (please reserve) Makeover Studio in house, Spa next door, Childcare, Dog Walking, Gift Baskets, Champagne, Limo Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.