We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferry next door.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   441 Shore Road | Nova Scotia, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
ocean views all rooms
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Ferry next door.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Adjoining Rooms. Nice big room with sitting area: sofa, mini fridge, micro, dining room table and chairs. tiny bath, no towel racks in part with bath/shower?? Super view of Annapolis Basin from huge window, hard to beat. And just a few hundred meters to the ferry.

They had my room mixed up at first, but it got straightened out. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
55
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great setting and restaurant but a real disappointment in the quality of accommodation. Toilet and tub are in a closet separate from the lavatory area forcing one to try and wash hands in the tub before handling the doorknob - a very unsanitary arrangement. To top things off, the shower was inoperable forcing this senior to manage a morning bath for the first time in nearly half a century. Reporting the shower on checkout gained no apology; merely a curt "we'll see to it". Good luck to the next occupant.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My mother, sister and I chose to stay at this small motel just outside Digby on our way back from whale watching on Brier Island. After we arrived at this STUNNING motel after our busy day, we dined in the motel restaurant (despite being really weary about typical motel restaurants) and were blown away. The service was phenomenal and the food was out of this world. We all indulged in the world famous Digby scallops and a generous amount of wine and were not disappointed. All of the rooms in the motel face the beautiful Annapolis Basin. My mom and I sat in muskoka chairs in the morning and drank our morning coffee on the motel dock watching the sun rise and the tide go out. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The only tiny flaw we had was that we had trouble getting the TV to work but when we called the front desk, someone was there in literally 30 seconds to fix the flatscreen. The staff was super friendly and knowledgable about the area and I would recommend this amazing motel to anyone passing through the area. It is perfect for any traveler anywhere from a young family to an retired couple. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this property mainly to be near Brier Island where we were doing our whale watching tour. With the two ferries, it took approximately 45min to get to Brier Island. Amazing drive. I recommend anyone who stays in Digby to do it. If you do the whale watching, pay the extra money for the Zodiac as well. Smaller boat, but worth it to get closer to the whales. The Inn itself offered the purchase of the tickets, which made things simpler too. If you go out to Brier Island I would give yourself more time then less just to explore the islands before your tour.

As for the hotel, the front desk staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. Every time I walked by they had a smile on their faces. The restaurant on site was small, but reasonably priced, and the food was amazing. It's recommended to have reservations. Also, it is situated so that every table has a view of the water which was really nice. The rooms themselves are very simple. They do have the free WiFi, and a Mini-Fridge. Laundry onsite, which was handy. Very large and spacious bathrooms. Beds were a little hard, but comfortable. Parking right outside the door of your room. They were clean, but maybe need a little sprucing up.

Overall, it was a great stay, and I would definitely stay again if in the area. They have a cheaper CAA rate as well.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the top floor a opposed to lower. We had little kids running around ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Nice little hotel close to the ferry crossing from New Brunswick (and by close I mean less than two minutes). Clean comfortable room with a bigger than average bathroom and a very nice shower (no tub). Staff were very welcoming and eager to help. The restaurant was fantastic and the scallops out of this world. Two minor things (neither is a deal breaker), first the pool was quite cold, meaning our 4 year old could stay that long in it. Secondly, if you have a room on the ground floor (only two floors) and the person/people above happens to be an exercise freak then the floor boards are a bit squeaky.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room design is certainly not intuitive. We arrived at night to a completely dark room and fumbled around to find the light switch which was across the room! The bathroom was weirdly large but the handicap bar next to the toilet jutted out so far that I felt like I was squeezed in even for my 105 pound frame. There was no closet, just some hooks on the wall. The view was nice. The staff were pleasant. Being so close to the water probably gives the room its dampness and musty odour. Very skimpy amenities. Only three bath towels for our booking of four. Not a pen to be found when I needed to write a note. Very basic indeed.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

It's a small, inexpensive, out of the way hotel. But it was amazing in three important ways: the view, the food, and the staff. The view you have to see to believe, and is worth the price of admission by itself. The restaurant has this view, plus amazing food. The staff is the icing on the cake. Leah at the front desk does the job of three people, and bends over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Michelle and the waitstaff are great.
Definitely a jewel in the rough, a not to be missed stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Address: 441 Shore Road | Nova Scotia, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages overlooks the Digby Harbour and Bay of Fundy. All rooms and Cottages have an ocean view. We are rated 31/2*. We have an excellent Restaurant on site serving fresh homemade seafood, etc, lounge to relax and unwind, public laundry, indoor pool and very friendly staff. We are a minute drive from the Saint John/Digby Ferry. Whale watching, Beaches, Historical sites close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Digby Inn & Cottages Ltd Hotel Digby
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Ltd
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.