We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home, beautiful gardens, personable staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   25 Harbourview Road | Smiths Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Stay
Ranked #1 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Lovely home, beautiful gardens, personable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the inn - the beds were comfortable and the rooms spotless. The gardens were beautiful. The Inn is an older house with all the charm of a well cared for home. We were greeted each morning with a smile and pleasant conversation. A delicious breakfast consisted of a hot dish, fruit, an assortment of breads/muffins, homemade jams, cereals, yogurt, coffee and juices. Darren was always helpful providing recommendations making reservations and providing directions. The morning of our departure we left at 6:30 am, we were given a nice bag breakfast (muffin, yogurt, apple, granola bar, juice). We enjoyed our stay and hope we have the opportunity to visit this inn again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
119
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse , NY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Harbourview Inn. It's a little outside of Digby but on a beautiful property with gardens and a field that slopes down to the harbor(with a view as promised).
The inn is very attractive and our room was of a nice size. Breakfast is excellent and in a beautiful room with many windows. You are served by very friendly staff and you may have the chance to meet their resident greeter - Rosie the dog. We had a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just stayed at this inn for the last 3 nights. The hosts made us feel very welcome and throughout our stay were very helpful. The large room was first class with a lovely view overlooking the sea. The breakfast was adqeute with a choice of fruit, yogurt, each day there was a different cooked option and toast with homemade jams. If you are looking for a restful break this is an ideal choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I were very impressed by this pretty bed and breakfast with its period furniture and friendly hosts. The rooms are spotless and cozily furnished. The breakfasts were very generous with fresh fruit and homemade preserves as well as a hot dish. We had purchased a package which included a dinner and whale watching tour which was excellent value. The gardens were beautiful and had easy access to pool. It was just a short stroll down to the waterside.It was everything we were looking for in a relaxing atmosphere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the most delightful inn. The view of the harbour from our room was gorgeous. And talk about going the extra mile for a guest! We had made our reservation that morning with the help of the innkeepers at Tattingstone Inn in Wolfville - then we headed off to catch a whale watching boat; but we had neglected to give our credit card info to hold the reservation. However, Harbourview Innkeeper Darren took the time to track me down on the boat to ensure our reservation would not be lost on a busy weekend in Digby (the Wharf Rat Convention, who knew?) As if such extraordinary thoughtfulness were not enough, the inn is perfectly kept, a short drive to nearly everywhere, and would serve as the perfect base for an entire vacation on the Bay of Fundy. Rosie, the resident canine, is an acclaimed finder of endangered turtles, so make sure if you stay at Harbourview you ask to be introduced to her, as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canning, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This inn is absolutely beautiful. Period furnishings and decor, spotlessly clean, wonderful hosts and engaging staff (Irene is a true gem), delicious breakfast with homemade jams & jellies, and attention to details that we've not experienced anywhere else. We will definitely be back, and yes, Wharf Rat Rally friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My relatives and I stayed at the Harbourview Inn in Smith's Cove, near Digby, Nova Scotia. Both our rooms were magnificent. The inn is extremely well kept and elegant, the grounds are superb. They also have a swimming pool and tennis court, which we did not use this time but we would consider doing so the next time. It so happens that when we left, my sister-in-law forgot her jacket in her room. We realized this when we returned to Halifax, on a Saturday night. I immediately called the inn and asked them to send it to us. As my sister-in-law was flying out of the country on the following Tuesday to get back to Israel, where she lives, we feared that it was too short a time to get the jacket, but we in fact received it on Tuesday morning, just in time for her to pack it in her suitcase. I doubt many innkeepers would have been so efficient!!

Breakfast was excellent and served with efficiency.

We will certainly go back to the Harbourview Inn next time we plan a trip to this beautiful area. The whale watching in Brier Island was absolutely amazing! Bear River is a lovely town, and Digby is an amazing centre where you can find excellent restaurants.

Thank you to the innkeepers for being so efficient and so gracious.

Denise Nevo, Halifax, NS

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 25 Harbourview Road | Smiths Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourview Inn, an historic Nova Scotia bed and breakfast nestled among the beautiful oaks, white birch, and elms of Smith's Cove is truly a quiet refuge. Rated with four stars by Canada Select, Harbourview is located near Digby, Nova Scotia on Canada's east coast in one of the most historic and scenic areas of Nova Scotia. Guests love the warm hospitality, the beautiful rooms, complimentary breakfasts, and free wireless internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.