We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but portions are small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Cafe

Boardwalk Cafe
40 Water Street, Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 restaurants in Digby
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Next to the Fundy Restaurant. Best seafood chowder. All cream, onions, butter and seafood. No filler!
Garson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but portions are small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were told the Boardwalk was one of the best. The service was very slow and they seem to cater to those they know than the tourists. We all ordered scallops and when it arrived on this large plate there were 7 scallops half a potatoe, 2 beet slices, 4 carrot slices a third of a cob of corn and a piece of broccoli ALL for $17.00. They tend to push desserts. We skipped dessert and went back to our hotel room and had tea and raisin pie.....HA Ha!! The food was delicious but not enough for any of us.Beautiful view of the harbour.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    39
    21
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best scallops ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I ate here two nights, had scallops and lobster tail one night and scallops only the next day. So well cooked served with lots of vegetables of unique variety. The blueberry cobbler desert was so so good!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stop Here For Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don’t expect fine dining but you will get good down home cooking. We sat on the patio overlooking Digby harbour. We both had fresh pan fried scallops and salad. The scallops were fantastic and the salad was freshly made. Make sure you save room for desert as all the pies are home made. If you’re hungry for scallops then this is the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and fast service with a view that can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We both enjoyed our meal. I had the half lb of Digby Scallops - 7 plump scallops cooked to perfection and served with new potatoes and lots of fresh veggies. My husband chose the Atlantic Salmon with rice and veggies. For dessert he had the Turtle Cheese cake and I had the best ever Blueberry Pie. We went for supper early, due to the bikers in town, and there was only one other couple in the café while we were there. Staff were friendly and attentive. When I asked about desserts, the server listed an extensive selection. Desserts can also be viewed in a showcase. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant for dinner because of it's positive reviews and because it is listed in "Where to Eat in Canada". This probably lead to feeling even more letdown. The service was quick and not very friendly. We ordered the scallops and lobster tail. The lobster tail was over-cooked and rubbery, so were all the vegetables. The only half decent part of the meal was the scallops. When we inquired about dessert, we were told to get up in the busy restaurant and go look at the menu board. Seemed it would have been easier if our waiter took 1 minute to tell us! We decided not to have dessert after that luckily, and made our way down to the Shore Line Restaurant for the best coconut cream pie ever! Also had dinner at the Shore Line on another night, much better meal!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Cafe also viewed

Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Boardwalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.