We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe

Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe
9 Water Street, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
+1 902-378-7937
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Digby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: OPEN JUNE 1st, 2015. NOT OPEN FOR LUNCH. Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe offers made to order breakfast, including a seared Digby scallop omelette and poached eggs with smoked salmon, open Tue-Sun., Closed Monday. Dinner service is Tue-Sun. We offer a four course fixed price menu serving local produce and fresh seafood. We strive to keep everything local. You have your choice of starter, salad, main course,home-made dessert selection, tea or coffee. Please bring your own wine, as we are not licensed. Please call in advance to reserve table. We are unable to accept email reservations.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went for breakfast on a rainy morning in Digby. Whilst the service was friendly, the food was nothing special. I found the coffee to be undrinkable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scallop Omelette Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped by for breakfast at this restaurant. I could not believe my eyes when I saw Scallops for Breakfast! When I am dining on the Coast, I want fresh seafood for every meal! Having a Scallop omelette for breakfast was Heavenly! Expertly seared fresh Digby Scallops, then folded into a tender omelette, served with a choice of tasty sides is a dining experience you can't miss. Later we returned and enjoyed a glass of Annapolis Highland wine, while soaking up the views of the Digby Riviera through the windows of this delightful restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Landed from the ferry after hours in driving rain. Our innkeeper made reservations here! I will go to Digby just to eat here again! Everything from soup to the wonderful cherry crumb tart was perfect! Scallops were perfect! Made our motorcycle trip around NS, PEI, ans NB another memorable moment!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful way to spend a birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was my husband's 50th birthday and his whole family came out and we went to Digby. I contacted the restaurant about having the dinner there, and they were so wonderful, right down to making a birthday cake. The service was the perfect balance of professionalism yet feeling like it was a private family affair. The prix fixe menu is outstanding! The scallop ceviche was dielcious and I can't stop thinking about the line caught halibut. It is great to be able to bring your own wine with a $5 cover charge. We felt so welcome and the evening could not have been better. I can't thank you enough. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Discovered Mag Pyes a year ago and it was so good we had to go back. Always great food and served by great people who never fail to make you feel welcome. A must place to go eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe also viewed

Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mag Pyes Bakery Shoppe and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.