We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A million dollar view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Come From Away B&B Inn

Save Saved
You added Come From Away B&B Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Come From Away B&B Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   98 Montague Row, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A million dollar view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent one night at this b&b and were very happy that we did. We had the garden room, beautiful roses and Iris' the only thing between our room and the view of the whole of Digby Harbour incredible! Joe, owner and breakfast maker, makes incredibly good omelets. Thanks Joe and Sharon.

Room Tip: The garden room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay and thanks for your comments. Next time make sure you stay longer so that you can wind down, enjoy the area and what it has to offer and continue refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a peaceful B&B! The only one I could find that allowed pets and also the only one on the water! The owners were very pleasant, polite and very interesting! The room we had was top floor overlooking the water with large windows and a balcony. Please note the rooms of the B&B is a little more like a motel style with the door directly to the outside, which we did not mind. Although the decor is somewhat outdate with old style TV & no Wifi it is the cleanest place you will ever see which is one of the top reasons for the 5 stars. They are slowly updated as they go. Queen bed is comfy with lots of pillows, glasses, coffee maker and a mini fridge. Breakfast was huge, with an omlete, cereal, bacon, sausage, yogurt homemade bread plus great coffee and I am particular about coffee. I highly recommend this B&B and believe it is the best one in Digby!! Walking distance to restaraunts and downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water view upsatirs. Only $10 more and very worth it. Beakfast is not made to or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your stay it was great having you, also for your impression of the room decor.
Will have to see what can be done about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place looks just average from the outside, but the room was very clean, outfitted with everything you might need and the breakfast was excellent with lots of everything. Service was very friendly and the views from the room were amazing across the harbour watching the boats come and go throughout the day and early evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your stay, it was great having you, if any of your friends come this way I would be happy to accommodate them as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had to leave early to get the 8am Bay ferry. This B&B was in downtown Digby and just a couple miles to the ferry. They have a modern annex in the back overlooking the harbor. It was a short walk to the Fundy resaurant for the famous Digby scallops. Our host got up early to fix us breakfast that was just excellent. There is a busy street in front, but the annex in back is quiet especially if you get the corner room second floor in the rear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Come From Away B&B Inn. Digby and the area have a lot to offer, I am glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to be of service if you are ever in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

'Come from away' is often a perjorative term in Nova Scotia- used to describe a would-be local who perhaps does not have deep roots in the area. But it is also a hospitable greeting, a friendly opener question in lieu "Where are you folks from"?

Well, Joe does 'come from away'- he and his then partner bought the establishment only a few years ago, and he certainly does welcome those who similarly are coming from somewhere else...

The place is a standout- the lovely authentic architecture of the main house, the location right on the water, the very attentive and delicious breakfast service. We stayed in the new annex, even closer to the water, and sat on the adirondack type chairs just watching the sunset. The room was clean, functional, and while not stellar, we were more than happy.

No question, besides the location, Joe is the draw. With something of a tough hard scrabble life, he has put everything into this business, and both earns and deserves his keep. I have no hesitation in recommending the property.

Oh, and his dog, Todd, is a great asset, too!

Room Tip: The two oceanfront suites in the annex are the quietest and closest to beach, but all are fine. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Come From Away B&B Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to be of service if you are ever in this area again. Todd is doing really well and thank you for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I spent three weeks touring the coast of Nova Scotia and Cape Breton. We also booked passage on the Bay ferry from Digby to Saint John, NB in order to visit friends. Prior to our trip I checked out B & Bs on Trip Advisor and randomly chose this one. It was easy to reserve a room for our preferred date, and the owner was always very prompt in answering any of my questions sent online. We stayed one night at Come From Away B & B on
the waterfront in Digby, and Joe placed us in room #4 in the building behind the main house. This gave us a totally unobstructed view of the Bay of Fundy as well as a clean and comfortable room with full bath. In the morning Joe and his helpers served us a "logging camp" breakfast which eliminated any possibility of requiring lunch, and we sat around a large dining table exchanging travel stories and tips. We enjoyed our stay so much.

Room Tip: I highly recommend room #4 as the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Come From Away B&B Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your time here. Nova Scotia certainly has a beauty of it's own. I look forward to be of service if you are ever in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We highly recommend this lovely comfortable and clean B&B. The location is right on the beach where you can watch the tides ebb and flow or simply enjoy the peaceful water's edge in the evening. Joe came out in the rain to meet his guests with umbrellas on the way in to breakfast. He whips up a hearty full breakfast and leaves the guests to enjoy shared stories of their travels and next adventures.
Don't miss out on this small town where the people are friendly, the views are great and you get a real flavour for the Maritimes.
Accommodation with the full breakfast is very good value during peak season.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComeFromAway98, Owner at Come From Away B&B Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Come From Away B&B Inn. I am glad you enjoyed Digby and the friendly residents, I look forward to be of service if you are ever in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Come From Away B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Come From Away B&B Inn

Address: 98 Montague Row, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Come From Away B&B Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and clean rooms with off street parking, some with a view and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Come From Away B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Come From Away B&B Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Come From Away B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.