We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One time visit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   103 Shore Road | Box 70, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HERE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One time visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

And my last visit. If I could have found other accommodations that would accept a small dog, I would have taken it. Digby isn't a large community and I believe if it weren't for the NS-NB ferry, things would be difficult financially for Digby Pines. The main building doesn't allow pets so I took a cottage at $227 a night. I believe this "resort" advertises itself as upscale and I know it isn't. The value isn't there. Main building is nice looking but certainly doesn't justify a 5 star attitude. The positives for the cottage are... 1. it is close to the ferry 2. it is dry 3. it is close to the ferry. Negatives.... 1. lumpy, sagging bed 2. filthy grout in bathroom 3. tub out of 60s just big enough for a toddler 4. air conditioning didn't work well and was outrageously loud 5. grainy TV and/or feed 6. cigaret butt can near the door 7. breakfast starts at 7am, ferry leaves at 8am.

Bottom line and a bit of advice for anyone seeking accommodations in Digby, save yourself a fat chunk of change by booking a reasonably rated room and get a great meal in Digby proper. Nice boardwalk and nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of the Digby Pines team, we want to apologize for your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can help rectify this issue. We hope you can come back for the authentic Digby Pines experience that we’re known for.

Talk to you soon,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    87
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
128
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband's Dad used to be with CP Hotels and I had heard so many testimonies of the many wonderful family holidays, spent at Digby Pines. It was so nice to recapture some of the wonder and awe of those days, The surroundings are still magnificent, the rooms and bathrooms, small, by today's standards, but so well appointed and comfortable, the activities, very plentiful and interesting, the gift shop was so well stocked with very creative, artistic ideas and items, well priced too, the food. and service,divine, But what impressed me the most, was the quality of the service at the front desk. They were pleasant, receptive to our requests and willing to do whatever was needed to accomodate us. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us. We’re happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Digby Pines after hearing about it for so many years. Our dedicated staff love what they do and we are ecstatic that our service shined for you during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Until next time,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The age of the resort only add to it's character. We stayed the night and played a round of golf the next day. The breakfast was reason alone to stay at the Pines. A good nights sleep, a great breakfast and a great round of golf made for a pretty special day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and golf course. We hope you come back soon; we’d love to have you.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Digby Pines is seems like a very historic property which has been kept up-to-date. Rooms are lovely and have wi-fi access. The restaurant is top class and opens out onto a patio overlooking the water - if the weather is fine make sure you have a drink out there. On the weekend we stayed, the bar had music on both nights. There were also other public areas where guests could sit and relax.The hotel has a small gift shop and there was a wide range of tourist brochures on the local area.

The grounds had a number of walks, nothing too strenuous but enough to let you feel you were in a natural environment. One of the walks took us down to the water and the local "beach', which was really just painful stones but a nice walk and view nevertheless. The hotel had a shuttle service into Digby which is far walk away. Staff were firendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy to hear you had a memorable vacation while staying at our Nova Scotia resort. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, delicious local cuisine, peaceful walking trail and our friendly and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Digby Pines soon.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I discovered this place by accident while we were looking for a place to stay a few days. The associates are extremely friendly and provide a great service. The room we had, had a view of the harbor of Digby and the bay. The rooms are clean and provide everything you need. The food at the restaurant was excellent and different from the normal steaks and fried fish. It was tasty and interesting in composition of different ingredients. The service was great. I would say that this place is worth a small detour on your next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we’re glad you found our resort on your journey. We’re glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay while enjoying our ocean view rooms, delicious and local cuisine, and friendly staff. We hope you can make it back for a visit in the near future.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A real gem!. While the cottage we had was a bit basic and dated in decor, don't let that deter you. Everything was very clean and in good working order. Electronics were modern, bed was comfortable and everything needed was there, including fire logs and a prebuilt fire ready to be lit. (no extra charge for the fire logs!)
The dining room was top notch and included an extensive gluten free menu. That alone was worth the trip.
The spa and services were modern and professional. In fact the best deep tissue massage I've ever experienced in North America! There was no rush and they offered complementary steam showers and sauna after your service.
The golf course was well maintained with a good Marshall ensuring a steady rate of play.
All staff encountered seemed genuinely pleased to be there and happy to assist.
An added bonus was having William serve us twice on the patio. Not only do you receive great service but he's very entertaining as well.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated cottages, gluten free menu, golf course and friendly staff. William is a great asset to our team at Digby Pines and we’re glad he shined on your Nova Scotia getaway.

We hope you can return to our resort in the near future, we’d love to have you back!

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Digby Pines Resort and Spa, and I forgot my jacket. I called them and they were very empathetic. They found my jacket and sent it to me. They sent it promptly and they even paid for the shipping. This type of service is rare in todays marketplace. Kudos to the staff at Digby Pines Resort and Spa !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Digby Pines, we strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We’re glad that we could help you and we're happy to hear your jacket was returned safe and sound. We hope to see you back to our Nova Scotia resort soon.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 103 Shore Road | Box 70, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Digby Pines Golf Resort and Spa is a Nova Scotia resort with casual elegance overlooking the Bay of Fundy. The Nova Scotia golf resort is located just 2 hours from Halifax, Nova Scotia's capital city. The 100% smoke free resort features the best of Nova Scotia accommodations with 147 total guestrooms, including 85 well appointed rooms and suites in the main chateau. For a more intimate, secluded setting choose from among the 31 one, two and three bedroom Maritime cottages nestled around the spacious grounds. Each has its own cozy living room with a fireplace and veranda. Complimentary wireless internet is available in the Grande Lounge and meeting rooms. Digby Pines is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia vacation with its breathtaking beauty, AVEDA concept spa overlooking the Bay of Fundy, gothic style outdoor heated pool, wooded hiking trails, tennis, lawn croquet, shuffleboard and fitness centre. Play a round of Nova Scotia golf at the par 71, 18 hole picturesque Pines Golf Course, one of Stanley Thompson's masterpieces. For a true taste of dining luxury, experience the cuisine of the Nova Scotia resort's renowned Churchill's Restaurant and Lounge, an award winning Nova Scotia restaurant. Casual meals are served at the 19th Hole Clubhouse & Eatery, offering a panoramic view of our award winning golf course. Digby Pines is also the perfect setting for a Nova Scotia conference with 6 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 250 - 350 dependent on event and set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Digby Pines Hotel Digby
Digby Pines Resort Digby
The Pine Resort Digby
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.