We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road for the price but I would give them a second chance.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wooden Monkey

The Wooden Monkey
305 - 40 Alderney Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
+1 902-466-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 219 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian, Canadian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are located on the Dartmouth waterfront. Don't underestimate the power and potential of Nova Scotia on a world stage. We are a casual spot that cares about what they feed their customers. Please don't troll, if you have a beef (vegan/gluten free or not) please contact us via our website Large/private parties we can handle, please contact us in advance, however at our core, we are a 1st come 1st serve kinda place. We will take good care of you and the people you care about.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Middle of the road for the price but I would give them a second chance.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Party of 4. Server very nice guy. Interesting and tantalizing menu selection so that was very nice. All the vegan choices were excellent. However, beef is definitely not their strength. My wife's premium steak order was cooked dry and way beyond the medium request. The buger was undersized and slightly red in the middle. The quality of their other offerings was good and I would be prepared to give them another chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great organic beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The wait was not long; nice wait staff, the menu was filled with great seafood dishes - even good kids choices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were looking for a nice restaurant for a birthday dinner that could accommodate my vegan diet. The Wooden Monkey was perfect ... delicious vegan meals instead of just mixed salads that you would get elsewhere. The service was good and since we stayed in Dartmouth, the location was perfect for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Pick a table with 'ocean' view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

If I should summarize our experience here I would say: Healthy menu, great special, heavenly meals and fantastic service. A good way to get here from Halifax is to use the ferry, don't forget to ask for a 'transfer' ticket, that will give you a free ride back :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Healthy & Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed a family dinner here & then fireworks from the parking lot. I agree that it is difficult to get to and worth the effort. Our server was attentive, prompt and a "hoot" which really added to the fun. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The chicken pizza deserves a special mention as it
had a unique delicious flavour. Loved the view of Halifax Harbour from here. I highly recommend this restaurant and would love to return on another visit to Dartmouth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Monkey also viewed

Dartmouth, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Dartmouth, Halifax Regional Municipality
Dartmouth, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to The Wooden Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wooden Monkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.