We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel to your Saves list
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada (Dartmouth Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dartmouth
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I had the same experience with parking as another poster. The garage is creepy... and the driveway to get to it needs to be reshaped and paved. I ended up parking in the outside lot.
I am still at the hotel as I am writing this review. So far, everything but the garage has been worth the price. Only one other thing... the visitor laundry is way down in the parking garage and it can be dirty and a bit unnerving to get there. Once you learn your way around the place.. it's okay.
I am here with my two little poodles so I was not allowed to stay in one of the harbour front rooms... that's unfair. What difference does that make if I have a dog or not staying in a front room? I mean I do understand that they want to keep some rooms pet free.. but why ALL of the good rooms?
There is a mention in the little manual thing that is in the room that a later check-out time can be aranged. Well, my other place I am renting for the week won't be ready till 3:00 tomorrow afternoon. Check out time is 11:00. I called to see if they could extend it to 1:00. I got a firm and kind of nasty 'NO' and then was offered Noon as the latest I could check out. That's not much of an extention when it is listed as 'we will be glad to accomodate your request.' Not like there are 100's of people here. I hardly see anyone here at all. Just me and one other couple on this floor.
But the place is basically clean and adiquit. It's close to things. Just needs a few things fixed LIKE THE PARKING SITUATION!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrSuper8, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on improving our underground parking and other improvements are being done to ensure all our guests leave here happy. We will also give look at making more pet friendly rooms available for those who want a view. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    43
    20
    18
See reviews for
45
60
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights during meetings. The hotel is ideally located for both Dartmouth and Halifax as it's only a short walk to the ferry. Rooms were huge and functional with two big beds, good desk space, free wifi, coffee maker, microwave and fridge as well as a great balcony with chairs to relax in the sun. It was also really quiet and we got the best nights' sleep in ages.
It's not five star luxury but the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and the self serve continental breakfast had bagles, homemade cinnamon rolls, blueberry scones and other little bits that gave it that extra touch. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrSuper8, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! We certainly hope you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We experienced great service, front desk staff was very helpful. Free continental breakfast was included in the morning. The hotel is dated; and not similar to other Super 8 accross the Atlantic Provinces ; however the hotel is very clean and safe. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer a bar fridge, microwave. The lobby and breakfast area was very modern. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for good economy hotel. I wouldnt pay more than $100 per night; however between $75-90 for this hotel it is worth it. Some needs for improvement for this particular hotel would be the room decor it is not consistent throughout the rooms and that could use updating; their was also no fans in the bathroom.

Parking was not free and you pay 8$ per night just to park in an old parking lot; in an alley way on the side of the building.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArneGM, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for you review. Your comments on our hotel service and amenities is appreciated. We have just completed major renovations on the interior of the hotel and the parking area is next on the list for an upgrade. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back to see us soon.


Arne Buchanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Nice , clean hotel with friendly staff.Great views of halifax/dartmouth harbour

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArneGM, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for the very nice review. Myself and our staff take great pride in our hotel and your comments are appreciated.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Not sure why some of the earlier reviews were so negative.

We stayed two nights and had no problems whatsoever: quick (and early) check-in by a friendly staffer, decent sized room with a balcony with a view of Halifax and the harbour, comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. The area itself was perfectly safe and as others have said, the ferry across the harbour was a 4 or 5 minute walk as were shops and some reasonable eating options.

Public areas were maybe a little frayed around the edges but the simple continental breakfast more than adequate. Less than $100 per night seems decent value to me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArneGM, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for your review. We have just finished a complete renovation of our guest rooms as well as the lobby and meeting rooms and am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon.
Arne Buchanan
Genenal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This Super 8 is a bit dated - fraying carpet edges, dud paintwork, etc. but what sells it is the location. It is minutes from the ferry terminal, so you can get across to Halifax by ferry - itself great - and get the benefit of a cheaper motel. Get a room with a harbor facing balcony too, higher the better. Don't pay extra for the basement parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArneGM, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your response. We have renovated most of the hotel and plan on completed all areas in the near future. I am glad that you enjoyed the view from the balconies as they are one of our best features.

Thank you.

Arne Buchanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The front desk staff were professional, friendly and efficient. We were early arriving and though our room wasn't ready because they had had a full house the night before, the young girl at the front desk went to find housekeeping to find out how soon they would have a room for us. It turns out that it wasn't a terribly long wait so we went to the nearby street market and checked out the local goods and crafts. Upon our return to the hotel, our room was ready and we were checked in right away. The staff were also very helpful to people wanting to find their way to different points of interest and they provided simple maps and directions. They all seemed very happy to help.

Our room was a generous size for myself and my 2 (nearly) teens with plenty of room to move around. The furnishings: two queen beds, a small fridge and a microwave, a desk and chair, T.V. stand with a flat screen T.V., a stuffed chair, a night stand between the beds with an alarm clock and lots of lamps and overhead lighting. The balcony had two chairs which was perfect for morning coffee with the free daily newspaper. The bathroom was well-appointed and though the shower pressure could stand to be a bit stronger, we did have plenty of hot water regardless of what time we bathed or showered. (The problems with the hot water that I've read in other reviews must be resolved now).

The decor could possibly use some updating but the carpets were all clean and didn't have that "walked on by thousands before me" look to them. Regardless, we were in Nova Scotia for pleasure so the hotel was really just a place to sleep. The few minor blemishes in the paint do not distract from the fact that this is a great place to stay.

The continental breakfast is nothing spectacular but it is ample and sufficient. Cold cereal (possibly oatmeal too), bagels, muffins, premade waffles for the toaster, tea biscuits, bread, the usual breakfast condiments (jam, peanut butter, syrup...), fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate. It's more than enough to keep one going until lunch time.

The beds were really comfortable, the bedding was clean, the air conditioning worked well (which was good because it was very hot and humid while we were there). Most importantly, it was quiet. There was an Italian racing team there at the same time that we were there. In the hallway and the elevator, they were a fairly loud crew. From our room, we couldn't hear them and we were right across from the elevator! Also to note was that there was some serious road construction happening directly in front of the hotel. Our room was on the side (not the front) of the hotel closest to the construction and unlesss the balcony door was open, we couldn't hear a thing.

The location of the hotel was ideal. A 5 minute walk to the Halifax-Dartmouth pedestrian ferry, a short drive to the MacDonald bridge with a shopping plaza just before the bridge, several coffee shops and a convenience store within walking distance, a post office across the street. Major restaurants can be found on the Halifax harbour (tip: check the ferry return times so as not to get stranded!).

The one negative thing that I have to mention is the parking. The hotel charges extra for both the underground parking and for parking in the not quite adjacent lot. If you can find parking on the street, it's free overnight but you have to start feeding coins into the meter fairly early in the morning (except on weekends, then it's free parking all day).

All in all, we were very impressed with this hotel and our stay was very pleasant. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArneGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for your very in depth review of our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all our guests have a great experience.

I apologise for any inconvenience you had with our parking area. Our underground parking area is very secure and kept at a worn 18 degrees for those cold winter mornings.

Hope you choose to stay with us again.

Arne Buchanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.