We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Spectacle Lake Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dartmouth
New Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

There was a great price on line, so we booked one night and were not disappointed. Staff are friendly and helpful and the room was a good size, clean and comfortable. There is a small fridge and microwave in the room. Hot breakfast is included and parking is free. Windows open.
A short drive to the shops and eateries at Dartmouth Crossing or to the bridge to Halifax.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWD M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Day Coe202,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel, It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of our location being in such close proximity to Halifax & most Dartmouth attractions. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Thank you,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    75
    21
    9
    0
See reviews for
84
89
14
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were very pleased with this location for our romantic overnight stay. We had no idea where to stay since our main reason for the visit was to shop and dine.

We did not have any reservations so we did not have any high expectations to get anything over the top. Well that's where we were wrong. We ended up in a king suite with a hot breakfast included at a very reasonably low price (probably what you would pay for a standard room) so we were very happy with that deal. We loved our room and the fact that there was 2 tv's which was more than we needed for 2 people and our bed was super comfortable.

We were very impressed with the hotel staff, front desks, restaurant and room service were all very friendly and accommodating. We were especially surprised by how new and clean this facility was. The pool didn't feel dirty at all and we ended up swimming alone, which was nice since the pool was the perfect size for my boyfriend and I. And we both loved that it was also heated.

The only suggestion we would have to improve just slightly is that it would be nice to have a clock in the pool area and maybe have better ventilation in the vending areas, they are very hot and uncomfortable with all those machines cooped up in a cubicle-like room. Otherwise, nothing major.

We had a wonderful time here at this hotel using almost everything to our advantage and really spoiled ourselves. I recommend this place to anyone who's looking to relax and enjoy the city. We are definitely returning!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWD M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Day Charlaine R,

We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy our hotel to the fullest while you stayed with us. Our staff always try and go above and beyond in order to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. We look forward to the next time you stay with us.

Thank you again,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night and I found everything to be perfect, from the rooms to the included hot buffet breakfast. Close to Burnside Ind Park and Dartmouth crossing. Not much within walking distance but a quick drive to almost anything you might want.
I would stay her again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWD M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Good Day MarkMac69,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. Our complimentary breakfast is always a popular item for our guests, It's great to hear that our location was ideal for you.. We'll look forward to your next stay with us.

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We decided to stay here for one night,after attending a wedding reception onsite.
The price for a basic room is extremely reasonable. Our room faced a brick wall,not great,but we were not here to view out at the scenery.
The room was spotlessly clean,beds super comfy,great pillows,room temp adjustable, small fridge and microwave.2 Queen beds,chair and ottoman...all you need!
The front desk was very helpful,allowed a slightly earlier check-in,found my daughter a room on very short notice and answered all our questions.
Hot breakfast in the morning(bacon,sausages,scrambled eggs,toast,etc.) Very good.
I have to comment on the outstanding job they did at the reception. The room was beautiful,service excellent,food amazing. The only small suggestion I would offer would be to not start clearing the tables of decorations at ony 9:30 PM,at the height of the party(Flowers in vase and candles removed) Felt like we were being rushed to wind down for the night) I was only a guest,but this is just my observation and thoughts on it. However,it was a job well done,overall.
Great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: If looking out at a brick wall bothers you,ask for a different location(but,you may need to pay a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWD M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Good Day Landrys05,

Thank you for such a detailed positive review of our hotel. Our staff will be very pleased to read that our guests are noticing the effort that goes into the details. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of all of our services. Your suggestions will be passed along to the appropriate Managers so that we continue to improve how we service our guests.

Thank you again,

Charlene

We decided to stay here for one night,after attending a wedding reception onsite.
The price for a basic room is extremely reasonable. Our room faced a brick wall,not great,but we were not here to view out at the scenery.
The room was spotlessly clean,beds super comfy,great pillows,room temp adjustable, small fridge and microwave.2 Queen beds,chair and ottoman...all you need!
The front desk was very helpful,allowed a slightly earlier check-in,found my daughter a room on very short notice and answered all our questions.
Hot breakfast in the morning(bacon,sausages,scrambled eggs,toast,etc.) Very good.
I have to comment on the outstanding job they did at the reception. The room was beautiful,service excellent,food amazing. The only small suggestion I would offer would be to not start clearing the tables of decorations at ony 9:30 PM,at the height of the party(Flowers in vase and candles removed) Felt like we were being rushed to wind down for the night) I was only a guest,but this is just my observation and thoughts on it. However,it was a job well done,overall.
Great place to stay!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great hotel, very close to Dartmouth Crossing and the highway in order to get around. The room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast was good...wish there had been more fresh fruit. The exercise room could do with some attention. Everything looks good but feels very rickety and unstable when on the equipment, especially the Elliptical machine

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good Day Nancy,

Thank you for your review.
We have had our local Fitness repair crew come to the hotel and do a preventative maintenance check on all our equipment. Everything is now up to date, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Hope to see you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice comfortable rooms, clean. Staff very pleasant. Kids had fun in the pool, very clean and clear water. Close to Dartmouth Crossings, lots of shopping and place to eat. Will be back at Best Western..AAA+

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good Day Claude,

Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. We enjoy having families and business travellers alike. With Free Breakfast, Free Parking and Free WiFi, we can understand how attractive our hotel is to most.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I think some travelers may be put off by the location of this hotel in Burnside, but it really is a great location if you've got a car and you're in town to do some shopping (less than 5 min drive to Dartmouth Crossing) or have kids in tow.

We're locals and just needed a night away from home due to house renos. The price was right and we were treated well by front desk staff. My daughter loved the pool - although beware, it's really more like a massive hot tub. Warm for the little kiddies, but you're not going to get much swimming done in it.

The breakfast the next morning was a bit ho-hum. We came nearer to the end of service and it was clear they were very busy that morning as there were no forks left, out of syrup, etc. What we did eat was standard hotel fare...nothing special, but not horrible. Overall, good stay.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast earlier if possible for best food selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good Day Caper Girl,

Thank you for your great review. We also feel our location is a great location being surrounded by Burnside Business Par and Dartmouth Crossing.

I hope that we see you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Address: 15 Spectacle Lake Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is the perfect place for business and leisure travelers coming to Halifax Regional Municipality. Situated in a private treed area, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is an oasis within the Burnside Industrial Park and conveniently located next to Dartmouth Crossing, Atlantic Canada’s newest shopping destination.Just a short distance to bridges or a ferry that will take you to downtown Halifax, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is where you can enjoy first class accommodations, with all the amenities, and competitively priced. Refresh yourself in our indoor pool, enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner and some imported or domestic wine at our popular Trendz Restaurant & Wine Bar. Relax in your room with over 60 HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.