We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WASH OUT!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnie Prince

Bonnie Prince
Reeves Street, Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 130 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Breton
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“WASH OUT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family went to have a final dinner together as our son was leaving home for seven months.
We asked for a table in the fireplace area. We were told since we were a party of three we could not sit in that area. There was a party of three at a table for four. There were three or four vacant tables in the area; two were tables for five.
They offered us a table for four in the middle of the pub directly under an air conditioner vent. We sat down and asked another waitress for a more comfortable table but with no luck.
When the couple who were waiting for a table behind us in line received a table in the section we asked for and were not allowed to sit there, we got up and left. The staff would not let three people into the area but two must have been the magic number!!
We have been going to this establishment for over thirty years as a couple, with family and friends and in much larger (20-30) groups, our staff. This is the first time we have had this problem!!
So the good times, service and food we had over the years was tweaked by this bad experience on a night which was so special to this family!
We intend to go back with the hope we never have this uncaring experience again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    7
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Anything you order will be delicious, great bar food too! I have never had a bad meal here and it is our favourite restaurant in Sydney!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If not for its high ranking on TripAdvisor, we would not likely have stopped (or stayed) for dinner at the Bonnie Prince. But the reviews were pretty positive so we gave it a go. On the outside it looks a bit like a suburban bowling alley or stripclub. Inside, it screams "1975." But the food is quite good. The staff there have a great sense of humour. Service is fast and really, the prices are terrific too. I had the Surf and Turf at a princely sum of just $15 as I recall (see photo). This place also has slot machines tucked right in the corner of the dining room-- a bit disconcerting if you are not used to that, but not a big distraction.

I recommend a stop at the Bonnie Prince. Extensive menu, great prices, interesting atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace bay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“home cooked meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

looking for somewhere to get a good home cook meal? this is the place.It is a very busy spot but dont let that stop you .Make sure to drop in and enjoy ,great sopt for a family gathering or group dinner .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold...the person who placed us threw the menues on the table and then said " here u go"...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The waitress was quick....the plate was not appealing to look at sparce.....

The turkey or chicken...what ever it was was stale and rubbery

The french fries were warm and hard not cooked...

Never will we eat there again

The wait staff need a lesson in friendly public service.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnie Prince also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Bonnie Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnie Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.