We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Paradise Found B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Paradise Found B&B
Save
You added A Paradise Found B&B to your Saves list
62 Milton St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 4L8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Sydney B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed here mid September for three nights on the final leg of our two week holiday.

As said by almost everyone else, staying here is an absolute joy.

Connie and Rick made us so feel at home and we just could not get out in the mornings as we had so much fun talking about everything over breakfast! And what breakfasts they were!
Every day we had something new and delicious. Not going to spoil the surprise by giving it all away but if you have the joy of trying Connie's special eggs Benedict you'll know what I mean.

They also helped us with our trip planning and offered a number of good suggestions for dining and so on.

Rooms are nice and big (can’t remember name of the room) and have very comfy beds.

All in all, we never did any B&B'ing before this trip but they have definitely turned us around and showed us how much fun it can be ! I hope we have the opportunity to go back one day and stay here again.

  • Disliked — nothing to dislike !
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
79
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

I stayed four nights at A Paradise Found B&B and really enjoyed my time there. The Bowers are incredible people, super kind and generous. They picked me up from a late evening flight and returned me to the same airport really early in the morning and I was even sent on my way with a packed lunch.

Breakfast was such an enjoyable and delicious event every morning, I didn't want to leave the table!

I have never come across such hospitality and consideration. They are a credit to the B&B industry and many thousands of other B&B personnel could learn a thing or two from these great people!

The house itself is beautifully furnished and a lot of loving care has gone into the property. Long may their business thrive! I will be back!

  • Liked — The hospitality and great breakfasts
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Rick and Connie have become good friends since we first booked in 2002 ( and Rick volunteered to send us off to the NFLD ferry at 3:45 am with a box breakfast and then let us back in after we remembered forgotten items 2 miles down the road. Beautiful house and you are invited to make yourself at home in it, not just in a cramped bedroom with taffeta & flora. These folks are knowledgeable about so much, and so willing to help you expand your horizons and zero in on your interests. It goes without saying that their breakfasts are forums for their guests. I should mention their cats, but some things you will just have to discover for yourselves.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

While on a 17 day trip we stayed in a number of B&Bs, most of them excellent - but "A Paradise Found" was by far the best. The Bowers are wonderful hosts, helping us with any question or issue. Imagine a new place setting each of the three mornings were were there! The breakfasts were delicious and a work of art. They even invited us to celebrate Thanksgiving with them.

Our room was bright with big windows, bed comfortable. They do have two cats which were not intrusive, rarely seen, but not good for people allergic to cats.

The Bowers made much of their home available to guests: living room, dining room and sun room, all spacious. Every area of the house was clean.

You will not be disappointed.
The Bergelands

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

This is a terrific place. Stayed here in mid-September. Lovely home. Our room was spectacular. The breakfast was large and memorable. And Connie and Rick Bowers are great company who go out of their way to make people feel at home and meet the needs of their guests from restaurant reservations to touring suggestions. Just a great place and I would go back in a New York minute.

Duncmac86
Philadelphia PA

  • Liked — The Bowers
  • Disliked — Location is slightly out of the way but very accessible
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

My wife and I stayed at A Paradise Found B&B for 2 nights in May and were thoroughly impressed with our room which was spacious, beautifully furnished and had a spacious private bathroom. The highlight though of our stay in Sydney were the gracious hosts, Rick and Connie Bowers who went out of their way to ensure that we had a wonderful stay. The Bowers are very professional and organized, and helped us to plan our Sydney stay and had great communication via emails. Rick made a dinner reservation for us at Governor's Restaurant on Mother's Day, and researched tour times at the fort in Louisbourg (which is a must see for anyone travelling to Sydney). Connie's breakfasts were delicious and the quantities were extremely generous; and, because it was a quiet time when we were staying there, we joined them for a memorable lobster dinner at the b&b (Rick took us to Sobey's where we picked out our lobsters). We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking to stay in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

  • Liked — Amazing house, beautifully decorated, gracious hosts, great room with private bathroom
  • Disliked — Had difficulty connecting our laptop to wireless connection
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

What a wonderful place to stay! The home is beautiful and the owners were most helpful both before and during our visit. The owners make you feel at home within minutes of your arrival. My only regret is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Paradise Found B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Paradise Found B&B

Address: 62 Milton St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 4L8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make our centrally located charming home your peaceful retreat when visiting beautiful Cape Breton. Ideally situated for you to explore the island by day, enjoy the food and frolic of Sydney by night and relax in the comfort of one of the area’s fine old homes. Three well-appointed rooms all with spacious ensuite baths. Elegant living/dining rooms and cheery sunroom/library. Connie’s full deluxe breakfasts get rave reviews. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Paradise Found B&B Sydney, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Paradise Found B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.