We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sydney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caledonia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was beautiful. Front entrance was lovely but it didnt end at the front entrance. The halls and rooms were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and always said hi. Breakfast was a step up from the usual continental hotel breakfast. Lovely pool with water slide and a workout room where I could watch my older kids from the all glassed wall looking over the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    69
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
165
110
6
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

After several stays at this hotel for work I received a very nice surprise upon checking in during my last visit - a complimentary upgrade to one of their suites! Wow, what a beautiful room - it really did make me feel special!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel it looked to be far from the harbour. But the desk clerk assured it was only 5 minutes away and she was correct. The hotel is beautiful. There is a walking trail across the street. The room was large with a large bathroom which we appreciate. The hotel was quiet and the front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our family really liked this hotel. Nice rooms. Clean. Quiet. Pool with a waterside. Friendly staff.

The breakfast is a "hot and cold buffet" but keep in mind it's free (er, included in you room). There wasn't a lot of hot stuff but they have make-your-own-waffles.

The two complaints we had were: breakfast seating area is too small; pool and slide are too cold. Small complaints overall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nothing negative to mention except for the fact that it is not very close to anything in town really, but it is quiet. If you have a car, you won't find this a problem. It is about a 5 minutes drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

very friendly...clean...beautiful hotel.... would definitely stay here again
The kids loved the pool and the slide was awesome
the rooms were spacious and very clean
the included breakfast had everything u could want
hot chocolate and tea or coffee readily available

Room Tip: we were in 302 and had 3 grandkids with us...they couldn't have been nicer--loved it we also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIMBERLEA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have been staying at the Hampton Inn for the last year. i vist every 3 wks for 2 nights and not once have been disappointed with the high level of service from arrival, to breakfast to check out. Tina is amazing as is the front desk employees. your complimentary breakfast is by far the best i have ever experience and the two ladies that prepare/restock the breakfast are truly amazing. i am always spoken to by name and appreciate the personal touch from start to finish. i encourage all that read this review to book your reservation now and enjoy an experience like no other.... you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.