We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sydney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Third time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As a business traveler and having stayed at numerous hotels in various cities, my experience at the Hampton was excellent from the time of check-in to checkout. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast provides and excellent selection to satisfy all kinds of diets. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Free parking!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    69
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
165
110
6
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staff were excellent and room accommodations were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet had a good selection. I would have preferred glasses in our room as opposed to paper cups. We learned on our check out that they are available for the asking. Hampton policy is to use recyclable products which are environmentally friendly ( paper).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A few km from downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia. Room will all the conveniences needed (wifi, fridge, AC, even a kitchen sink and two water bottles), all-you-can-eat breakfast included and a nice restaurant in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Uniacke, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and was sad that we didn't stay for more. The room we were in had a king sized bed which was very comfortable. The room was clean and big as was the bathroom. The complimentary breakfast had both hot and cold items to choose from and there were plenty of items to be had. Great place to stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Marc J,
Thank you for taking the time to write these wonderful comments. We appreicate your business and agree that both the pristine rooms and our complimentary breakfast are fantastic. We are delighted that you enjoyed both and we are looking forward to your return visit. Thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentz Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A few blocks off main entrance road into Sydney and a little tricky to find initially, this hotel is beautifully decorated, has great beds and excellent complimentary breakfast.Staff friendly.Best place to stay in Sydney area unless you absolutely MUST look out your room onto the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Douglas Q,
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to leave such wonderful words about our hotel. We do have to agree that we have an extremely friendly staff and a fantastic complimentary breakfast with many great items to choose from. We are working diligently to try to get some signage erected and hope to be successful in this endeavor. Thanks again for choosing the Hampton Inn for your recent stay and we would love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife will probably insist on Hampton Inns after staying here, as it was an exceptional property for the price point. This hotel is much better than the average Hampton due to the obviously exceptional ownership and management of this particular group of Hamptons. No deficiencies whatsoever, beyond the mediocre breakfast, but hey, it was free! Kudo's to this hotel, it's owner and it's management. Stay away from all of the adjacent and connected shops, restaurants and gambling joints, they are all a pit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear RayCornerstone,
Thank you for your recent review we appreciate you taking the time to give us such honest feedback. We love that your wife and you enjoyed your recent visit so much and have to agree with you that the management and owners certainly invest a lot of time and money into producing this world class hotel. We love working here and providing the exceptional service in the beautifully appointed building. Come back again soon, we would love to host any future stays you may have when in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have stayed at Hampton Inn-Membertou many times since it was built. Always a great experience. This time not that great.

Breakfast- the complimentary breakfast is served until 10am. My second day there I went down at 9:15am. There was nothing left. Actually I was trying to get some of the little food there and the employee was taking it away. I was given the impression that if you dare sleep in past 8am, don't count on food. No hot stuff left at all. My third day was the same result so I had to go buy breakfast elsewhere.

Cleaning/stocking if room- we used our tea bags our first night and it was never refilled. We even left a note asking for this in our room and nothing. Also every time we came back to our room after it was cleaned, the air conditioner was on high. It might have been warmer in Alaska than our room.

Overall it was an average experience. Not outstanding which is what it had been to this point. Next time I'm looking into the Holiday Inn or the Cambridge Suites. I collect Hilton points but maybe I will have a better experience.

However if you are looking for a clean room, this hotel is great. But that is about it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Kagcan,
We are so sorry you were deeply disappointed with your recent stay.Thanks for your honest feedback and please contact me personally at the hotel at 902-564-6555 so we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.