We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hotel I've Ever Stayed In!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sydney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Bridgewater, NS, Canada
1 review
“Nicest Hotel I've Ever Stayed In!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was without a doubt, the nicest Hotel I've ever stayed in. Being connected through a pedway for the conference I was attending was a complete bonus as well. The complimentary breakfast was much nicer than any other I have had in the past also. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone! Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Susan K,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We agree that the pedway joining our hotel to the Membertou Trade and Convention Center is very convenient especially in winter where you don't have to brave the elements to attend a conference or eat at their fabulous restauant Kijus. Our breakfast is by far the best around with lots of hot and cold selections and we are glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for recommending our hotel to others and we hope to host any future stays you have when in Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    64
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
144
100
6
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a conference. I was extrememly pleased with the sercive I received and the quality of the hotel! The staff were friendly adn helpful adn teh room were very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff go out of their way to provide the very best customer service and are very successful at keeping our hotel pristine, we are happy you noticed. We would love to have you stay with us again whenever in Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmount, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel was beautifully decorated. very kid friendly. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Held a birthday party and the children had a great time at the pool and really enjoyed the breakfast. rooms are great for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HALIFAX, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was great. It was very clean and new inside. The complementary breakfast was really impressive, and the staff was very kind and helpful. The to-go bags were also great for days on the run. I would advise future business travelers to be very repetitive with your corporate discount (if applicable), because mine was not applied after reminding them twice. That would be my only complaint, everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney has a very nice hotel lobby with beautiful hardwood floors throughout, friendly staff and nicely appointed rooms.

In the smartly appointed and spacious room was a king-size bed with firm yet comfortable mattress and hard as well as soft pillows to choose from, two bedside tables and phone. Lots of lighting and desk as well as free high-speed wired and wireless internet. There was a chair, sofabed and large window overlooking Rotary Park and northern Sydney. A 37-inch LCD TV was mounted on a kitchenette and there is even a lap desk for your laptop. The private kitchenette is equipped with an unstocked refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee/tea maker, ice bucket. The room had a quiet air conditioner and climate control. The room was spotless. The closet was a moderate size with enough hangers, iron and ironing board.

The bathroom is spacious with lots of towels and facecloths and large shower though there was no tub. There was the usual toiletries, hair dryer and large vanity with large mirror. The only negative is the lack of a ceiling fan in bathroom leading to fogged up mirrors.

There is a pool area with waterslide and gym that we never used. There is a pedway linking the hotel to the Membertou Trade and Convention Centre as well as Kiju Restaurant.

The complimentary breakfast buffet from 6-10 am was fantastic! A large breakfast area led to the large breakfast pantry/buffet area where you found huge self-made waffles, bacon, sausages, cereals, pastries, beans, eggs, yogurt, fresh cinnamon rolls, bagels and muffins, various breads for toast, juices, coffee and tea. One of the best free breakfasts we've encountered in a hotel. Coffee and tea is available 24/7 in the lobby.

There was also a free newspaper delivered under the door in the morning. The final bill was also slipped under the door. They even placed a bottle of water with my wife’s company logo on it. A small attention to detail & it gets noticed.

This would be one of the better hotels we've stayed at this price level and probably one of the best Sydney has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear fuzzybearHalifax,
Wow thank you so much for your very detailed and kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review and point out all our wonderful amenties like our complimentary breakfast and spotless rooms. We would love to host your next stay in Sydney and hope you have a great holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A great hotel for business or pleasure travel. Hotel was a pleasant surprise for this trip. The staff were extremely helpful and engaging and the premises immaculate which made the overnight very restful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is virtually brand new and it is beautiful! The foyer and dining rooms have lovely furniture (so much that I inquired on who designed it) and perfectly laid out. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with internet, comfortable beds and great linens. Complimentary breakfast is served each morning and the selection is varied and delicious.

The hotel staff is wonderfully accommodating and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

PS - this trip was personal, but as a frequent business traveler - the Hampton Inn Sydney would be perfect for work trips as well.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Michelle1009,
Thank you for your great review! We agree that the hotel does have a wonderful decor with beautiful furniture and appreciate you noticing the touches that were put in to make it all come together. Our breakfast is also one of our best features having so many items to choose from nobody walks away hungry that is for sure. Thanks again for recommending our hotel for business or leisure and we would love to see you again in the future. Enjoy your holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.