We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sydney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am so impressed by the Hampton! I arrived late and was exhausted. The folks at reception were FANTASTIC! I felt so welcome! My room was spacious and so very, very clean. Wonderful service, welcoming atmosphere, indoor walk to the business center, amazing breakfast, beautiful building! I highly recommend staying there..Floors are unique hardwoods. I even took a picture as I would love to have them in my home. If I could make 2 requests. It would be great to have robe in each room. Second, is one day I brought breakfast up to my room and the plate and leftovers were not discarded when the room was refreshed for the 2nd night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Our staff works very deligently to please our guests and it so rewarding to know that your stay was enjoyable. We also thank you for your feedback concerning robes in our guestrooms.

Warm Regards,


Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    42
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
96
72
6
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredewricton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice property with large rooms and access to better than average restaurant connected by walkway to hotel. Floors are unique hardwoods. Breakfast included in price.

I do not know why reviews have to be at least 200 characters. You should get rid of this requirement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldbrook, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am so impressed by the Hampton! I arrived late and was exhausted. The folks at reception were FANTASTIC! I felt so welcome! My room was spacious and so very, very clean. Wonderful service, welcoming atmosphere, indoor walk to the business center, amazing breakfast, beautiful building! I highly recommend staying there for business or pleasure.I stay at a lot of hotels and I rate this one as the best for business yet!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were looking for a little March break family getaway and this hotel was perfect for such a trip! It was spotlessly clean, the pool and fitness centre were well equipped and the rooms were very comfortable. We had a kitchenette-type sink, mini fridge and microwave in the basic room, which was great for the needs of a family with infants. The older kids loved the pool/slide - this was by far one of our most enjoyable trips. The complitmentary breakfast included everything from fresh waffles to fruit, oatmeal, eggs and bacon - something for everyone. Lastly, the staff were all very pleasant-I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great, clean place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your "March Break Get Away." Our staff take pride in their work, and it is so refreshing to know that our guests notice this!

Thank you so much for the great review.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff at the front desk were great and very welcoming.they were more then happy to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable..The lobby was beautiful and the room was clean, spaciouse and the beds were very nice...The full hot breakfast was amazing and the staff there were always there asking is there anything you can't find or need... my kids loved the home made waffles..... i would like to make a special shout out to the young man with the curly brown hair.. i didn't catch his name but he was so sweet... he took so much pride in his job cleaning the floors. Even after a bunch of children ran over the floor dripping wet (just coming from the pool) after him just cleaning it... he had no problem going back to wipe it up again and again and again... 6 times to be exact and every time he had a smile on his face... he told us to watch our step that it may be a bit slick... he was so pleasent.... great job!! he is a great asset to your company,....we will be coming back for sure..... love this place... thank you

laura and kaitlynn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are very pleaseed to know that you enjoyed your stay and we would love the opportunity to host your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

New hotel. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly staff. Excellent included breakfast. Location has a pool with a seperate water slide. Business center fantastic. Rooms clean with wonderful beds and very spacious.

Overall fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting your next stay in this area.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful... Our king room was perfect! The staff was amazing from check in to check out!! Wine and a $50 gift card to Kijus included!! You cant beat that! The weather was terrible the night we stayed but we had a beautiful meal and didnt even have to leave the facility:) Also the breakfast is a huge added bonus!
Cant wait to get back over for a family night!! If you are in Sydney ... Stay here:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your romantic get away. Our romance package is our most popular package and most everyone seems to enjoy it! Once again, thank you.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sydney 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.