We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value... Strongly recommend the "Romance Package" for your next date night:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sydney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value... Strongly recommend the "Romance Package" for your next date night:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful... Our king room was perfect! The staff was amazing from check in to check out!! Wine and a $50 gift card to Kijus included!! You cant beat that! The weather was terrible the night we stayed but we had a beautiful meal and didnt even have to leave the facility:) Also the breakfast is a huge added bonus!
Cant wait to get back over for a family night!! If you are in Sydney ... Stay here:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your romantic get away. Our romance package is our most popular package and most everyone seems to enjoy it! Once again, thank you.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    69
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
165
110
6
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel and the staff provided THE best hotel experience I have ever had in my lifetime! The room was immaculate and comfortable, the staff was over-the-top accommodating, and the pool and breakfast amenities were fantastic. I will never stay at a different hotel while travelling in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, in spite of the weather. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I always try to stay at Hamptons because i know i will get a great bed, clean linens, friendly service and an awesome breakfast. This hotel is quite new and it didn't disappoint. The girl at the desk was fantastic, and the lobby had some unique touches as well. I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Workout facility was very good. I didn't use the pool but those who did appeared to be enjoying it. I would definitely stay here again if my plans bring me to Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We came here awaiting a flight out of Sydney, and little did we know how great a recommendation our friend had made. Our first impressions were great - friendly staff, well maintained facilities, and very very clean rooms. AND!! Finally a hotel that washes the blankets between guests! Everything in Nova Scotia is closed down right now and after a great breakfast, lunch and swim, we returned to our pleasantly refreshed room with the kids and found a note inviting us down for a complimentary dinner. Once there, we were also offered a glass of wine or beer. The staff are stranded here overnight too on account of the storm and they are incredibly pleasant about it. They were not prepared for this storm, but they have extended so much care and kindness to us, ensuring us that we don't have to go out, and the meals have been taken care of. They pulled out pizzas and fries and beans and hot dogs - whatever they could find in the pantry and shared it with us all. We have been able to just kick back and totally relax while they have seen to all of the details for us. A real getaway for the whole family. Thank you so much for all of your hospitality. It has been a real treat to be so relaxed!

Room Tip: We took a room on the sixth floor - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, in spite of the inclimate weather!

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and it is an amazing hotel. Staff, rooms, service and breakfast are all excellent. Decent gym and good place to run outside if you are a runner. The staff aer committed to making your stay most pleasant and are very accomodating.

Room Tip: I saty in the king suite and it is very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We really appreciate your kind words and the great review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here on a few different occasions and always opted for a room with "2 Queen Beds" which was always very nice with a mini kitchenette with a microwave, fridge, sink, coffee maker, marble counters and a nice bathroom!

My husband had purchased a gift certificate which stated a "Deluxe King Suite" for our anniversary so we expected a little something extra compared to the regular "2 Queen Beds"...boy were we wrong! Stayed there this past weekend and our "Deluxe King Suite" was a joke compared to the regular "2 Queen Beds"...The lady at the desk told us she was giving us a nice harbour view, when we arrived we found our view to be a parking lot and the back of some buildings. There was a microwave and fridge but just on the same stand as the TV, nothing special like the "2 Queen Bedrooms" and our bathroom did not even have a bathtub, shower only!

Now don't get me wrong, if I would have never stayed in the "2 Queen Bedrooms" I probably would have thought that this room was just another normal hotel room (minus no tub). But the fact the we paid extra for a "Deluxe King Suite" is a joke!!!

Usually always stay here when in the area but will consider the Holiday Inn next time...if you do decide to stay don't waste your money on anything extra, just get a normal room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. We appreciate all feedback that we receive. We are terribly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly and I'll be happy to assist you in any way I can.

Thank you and once again, our sincere apologies.

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First time staying at this hotel. It was New Year's Eve and we had tickets to the dance at the MTCC. The room was large with a king bed and beyond large bathroom. They were extremely busy but no problem checking in. We needed a new iron because the one in the room was dirty, someone arrived with a replacement in less than 5 minutes. Even with all the excitement going on for that night we never heard a peep the entire night. It is a fantastic hotel and if you get the chance to dine at the restaurant across the pedway.. It's a must!! I have recommended it to everyone and will continue to do so. For Xmas I received a voucher for the "romance" package and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Angela,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very appreciative that you took the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely hope that you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.