We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemon Roasted Potatoes!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro

The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro
137 Victoria Road, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 2V5, Canada
902-539-1553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lemon Roasted Potatoes!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I would actually go for the roasted potatoes alone. Small restaurant, but very busy. Reserve a table. Such cozy atmosphere and décor. Amazing! Also has a HUGE menu but don't be afraid to try the special cause I did and in no way regret!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    42
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton, NS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stick to what you do well.....Pizza is not it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Olive Tree Bistro is wonderful and delicious, don't get me wrong. Everytime I have eaten here, its been just great with a vast choice of delicious mediterranean fare..... BUT....their pizza is not good! Sorry, but when you do something well, just stick to it. They did pizza before and stopped and now they are doing pizza again. DEFINITELY visit the Olive Tree....just don't go for pizza.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gerard the personable waiter!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After spending two nights in Halifax and having underwhelming dinners ( except lunch on boardwalk) we moved on to Sydney. Tired and hungry we checked trip advisor for inspiration. Up came the olive tree #1. When we got there the small place was just about full. Do you have reservations we were asked. Gerard looked at our faces and said ' I will get you a table'. He entertained us until our meals came . They were wonderful. The place closed at 9 o'clock but the staff insisted we had time for dessert. They were amazing too! It was so nice and friendly! We recommend this restaurant to everyone. And if you get Gerard for your waiter you have hit the jackpot!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a mid or up scale restaurant with rather decent prices. I'm a picky eater but they always have something for me to eat. It's a perfect place for a date since it's slightly dim and cozy. Would be nice with a few more non ethic foods to choose from. But I would say almost anyone would find one thing they could eat for a meal. The staff for the most part is helpful. The odd time you will have someone be rude, only happened to me once in the many times I went there. They come to the table just enough to refill drinks or take new orders without feeling like they are rushing you to eat and get out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was above expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with restaurant
Enjoyed choices and quality. Happy with atmosphere bistro style nice menu selection

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.