We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro

The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro
137 Victoria Road, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 2V5, Canada
902-539-1553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very warm and inviting restaurant. Plan ahead and make reservations because they are always busy. The food is amazing and unlike anything in Sydney. I would highly recommend the Mediterranean cheese dip. Also would recommend the roasted potatoes as a side. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    42
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“olive tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

a very wonderful experience is always had when we visited this restarant.. the food is excellent along with the atmosphere

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Some of the best Italian food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was disappointed that they no longer service pizza. But we had Spaghetti and Lasagna, and they were both great! The atmosphere was very nice also. But the location was a bit odd; it's not out of the way, but it's not really central either. Unfortunately we did not leave room for dessert as we had eaten earlier, so we were disappointed we didn't get to try what appeared to be some amazing desserts! It wasn't too busy either, we were there for lunch. The prices were a little high, but the portions were huge; we took half with us for supper! I'd recommend this place to anyone; we went here because it was #1 on Tripadvisor, we weren't disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place ...Wonderful food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have been here many times now ..the atmosphere is unique and very clean ...as in for every dish I tried ..5 star for each and everyone ..Ps. Leave room for dessert ...so good :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Peter's, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, great service cannot make up for sub par food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Before I start I want to say that I feel bad even writing this review. The decor/atmosphere is beautiful & the staff is beyond friendly & attentive but unfortunately the food is not at all what I expected.

The bread taste store bought, as does the dressing, the croutons & the 'whipped cream'. I could have made a better caesar salad in my own home. The 'bruschetta' I ordered was not bruschetta at all, barely any tomatoes & loaded with greasy mozzarella cheese. This food didn't look or taste italian. I am sorry to say that the prices are cheap but so is the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Tree Pizzeria Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.