We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Though Under Renovation - A Great Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Even Though Under Renovation - A Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had to do some business in Sydney and was somewhat unaware about Hotel options in the Region.

As the Title mentions, the place was under Reception Desk renos, yet the people were absolutely wonderful about how they went about things.
I cannot express now much the people were so incredibly outstanding!
The room was very comfortable with pillow options.
One caveat: There is little noise options between rooms...

Great Price/Quality with great soothing water views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ron C,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad we could make your stay comfortable for you during our renovation process! The project is now complete and we are very excited about our new look! We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Sydney!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    66
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
36
48
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garfield, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed here when this was the Delta, and it's a great hotel. It can be pricey but it's the best hotel in the area - if you're not going cabins or bed and breakfasts, this is your best choice. Other inns and hotels in town are poorly renovated and some are really just not good at all. I lived in the area eventually for a few years - it is where I'd recommend for anyone who asks me for a personal preference!

Room Tip: corner rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Nwakris,

Thank you for your review. We are proud to be your choice hotel in Sydney! We would love for you to come again and check out our amazing renovated lobby and our new SaltSpray Restaurant!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn for two nights over March Break. We had a fantastic time, and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone. In fact, when my parents came to visit us at the hotel, they ended up booking a room down the hall and staying there as well because they were so impressed (they had stayed somewhere else the night before, and were planning to go home that day - they ended up staying instead).

Room: We stayed in one of their beautiful suites. We are a family of 5, and space is sometimes an issue - not the case during this stay! The suite was awesome, and had a perfect layout for our family. The main area of the room had a large entryway, a separate powder room (sink/toilet), a kitchenette (bar fridge, microwave, bar sink), table/chairs, pull-out couch, TV, and a desk. Two of our children slept on the pull-out, and we had ample room to bring in a cot for the third child. It was a great space, and the kids loved having their own little area. The master bedroom is separated from the living area by two doors. It had a king bed, another TV, and a large ensuite bathroom (with jetted tub). The bed was really comfortable! We thoroughly enjoyed the suite - it was in a quiet corner of the top floor in the hotel, and had a great view. Everyone slept well, and the kids were equally enthused about the room. My parents had booked a regular king room down the hall, and they said it was the best sleep they have ever had in a hotel - they were also equally impressed.

Pool: Our kids LOVE this pool - it is a decent size, and has a great waterslide - just be warned that it can be a bit fast. We love it because the water is a comfortable temperature - very much appreciated by parents who have to be in the pool as well because of the younger ages of our children! Our family spent hours at the pool, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There is also a little hot tub in the corner. I would like to commend he hotel for being proactive re: safety during a busier March Break time of year - they had hired lifeguards to be there while we were there, something that is rare at hotels. As a parent, I applaud them for taking this initiative during a time when they will obviously have +++ kids in the pool. Our only minor "blip" about the pool was that they seemed to run out of pool towels often, and it took us 45 minutes to get some when we called the first time we went swimming. However, the pool was obviously very busy/popular that weekend, so it might have been a supply/demand issue.

Food: The hotel was still undergoing renovations when we were there, so the only place to eat was the Crown and Moose Pub. The food was excellent! We ate a delicious supper there on Friday night, then breakfast there both mornings. We were thoroughly impressed, and with the "Kids Eat Free" program, you can't go wrong. The servers were very friendly and efficient at all 3 meals, and were very thoughtful and attentive to our kids. We would (and will!) eat there again in future without hesitation. We want to give a very special mention to Bobby Currie - he was the entertainer who was singing in the Pub on Friday evening when we went for supper. Our 2 year old loves music, and loves to dance whenever she hears music. We were seated in a booth near where he was playing, and she was dancing/clapping along. It was pretty cute as it was (I think he could tell how much she was enjoying his music - as were we all!), but next thing we knew he was playing her an adorable little "pub style" version of "Itsy Bitsy Spider/Twinkle Twinkle Little Star". At 6 pm in a pretty busy pub on the Friday night of St. Patrick's Day weekend! He also came over and gave her 2 CDs when he was on his break (she was proud as a peacock about those all weekend!). Talk about going above and beyond!

Service was great at the hotel - Cyril went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, and Joan in reservations is a gem! Alison at the front desk was great, and was super helpful. All in all, it was a top-notch stay, and we look forward to returning again to see the completed renovations.

Room Tip: Suite offers great space for families - rooms on highest floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear mdnrn,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that we could take part in a great March Break for your family! Our suites are a great and spacious and ensuring a great sleep in very important, it's great to know that everyone slept well! It's wonderful to hear that your family thoroughly enjoyed a large portion of what our hotel has to offer, including the pool, Crown and Moose pub and one of our regular entertainers Bobby Currie (and the special show for your little one), as well as many of our incredible staff members. We also have live entertainment every Friday and Saturday night. I will be sure to pass on your amazing review to all of the staff and hope to welcome your family back again soon!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here 1 night. It is easy to find the hotel and parking was easy. Check in/check out was pleasant and quick. The hotel has been/is being renovated and the lobby looks good so far. My room was on the 6th floor. very nice view of the harbour. Close the blinds if you dont want the sun shining to wake you up. Room was very nice. Clean and comfortable. I received a complimentary breakfast(good thing because eggs,bacon and toast was $11.00....that's right $11.00) All in all I'd stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Might want to pack a breakfast..... I liked the south rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Mollyg,

Thank you for your review! We have completed our lobby renovations and are very excited about our new look! Our complimentary parking lots are well appointed for your convenience, and I will be sure to pass on your pleasant check in/check out experience with our guest service team! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
I am writing to you concerning my recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Waterfront, Sydney, Nova Scotia.

Kudos to the new Holiday Inn and to their professional, friendly staff. The entire staff exuded a true sense of self, providing their customers with the utmost of care and displayed a synergy of client service I have yet to see anywhere in the hotel industry.

Of worthy note, was Sales Manager, Mr. Richard Deeble. Mr. Deeble, in my opinion, is an exceptional client relations expert. Mr. Deeble gladly took the time out of his days to provide me and my family with an A - Z approach to making our stay an amazing experience! Mr. Deeble's engaging personality, professional mannerisms and work ethic impressed us fully, during our stay. His interactions will forever stay in our memories and hearts. In a world shrinking regarding the client service / tourism field, Mr. Deeble stands out as a giant, not only in his stature, but in his hands on approach to ensuring his guests are treated like family. His knowledge of the local area, sense of humor, and attention to every detail, no matter how small, leave a guest(s) feeling they are truly important. More so, when a task is said to be looked into or after, his word is gold, and it is followed through without falter in a prompt manner.

Will I return to the Holiday Inn, Sydney?, for certain! As a matter of fact, I look forward to it next year.

Working for one of the largest Federal Government Departments in Canada, I will certainly be passing along my praise to my fellow colleagues with the hope they will choose the Holiday Inn, Sydney, while travelling through the Cape Breton area.

Kudos Holiday Inn!
Kudos Mr. Deeble and thank you so very much once again!

Room Tip: Any of the fine staff at the Holiday Inn reception are more than friendly and helpful in selecting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Dennis B,

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your March break vacation. We take great pride in our customer service and its great to hear the positive feed back from you. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Richard and the rest of the staff here at the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront! We'll be looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future!! Thanks again :)

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stay here very often with our two girls. Most recently Christmas vacation. They have a great pool with a huge water slide. The restaurant is very good, breakfast menu is delicious and the kids eat for free off the menu when staying at the hotel. There is also a lovely little bar called the Crown Moose which is a great place to sit and relax with friends without even leaving the hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the staffs are friendly and accommodating. We were upgraded to a suit very easily when asked. This hotel was formerly called the Delta. It has changed names just last year. We also had our wedding reception here under the Delta name. It was wonderful!! I would recommend any one stay here but especially great for anyone with children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear NGgirl,

Thank you for your review. It’s a delight to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our pool and waterslide is a great feature for families and the Kid’s Eat Free program is definitely a bonus for family travel. The Crown and Moose Pub is definitely a staple here, with live entertainment every Friday and Saturday evenings. We are so honored to have hosted the reception for your wedding and to have had a part on your special day! I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to all the management and staff here at the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manger, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is currently undergoing a major overhaul and thus some things are less than perfect (ie. the maze from the hotel to the restaurant) but the staff is apologetic, helpful and friendly. On the day that the work involved some jack hammering in the late morning the staff offered some swag as a peace offering, which was a nice touch as they could have just shrugged it off as the nature of the beast. Breakfast is a bit pricey for what you get so we went elsewhere...
My favourite part about my stay was being able to choose my pillow firmness, as they are clearly labelled "soft" and "firm". Simple pleasures ;)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear fierykitty,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad we could make up for the inevitable inconveniences of the renovation process. The 2.3 million dollar renovation over the next 2 years is very exciting and the new lobby area and brand new restaurant will be finished in April 2013! It’s also great to hear you enjoy the little Holiday Inn touches we have to offer, like the choice of pillow firmness. We love the simple pleasures as well.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Address: 300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.