We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Not sure about the poor reviews for this facility; received excellent service, many thanks to Cyril @ front desk who went above & beyond; room was spacious and clean, as was property overall. Didn't use restaurant but found pool & fitness facilities good. I'd recommend to anyone & stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: water view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear flanalan,
Thank you for your review. It’s wonderful to hear you experienced our clean, comfortable rooms, pool and fitness facilities, not to mention the awesome customer service brought forth by Cyril. He’s truly a gem! I will be sure to pass on your great feedback to all departments. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
24
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.
I don't care of nice rooms, wonderful view or brilliant restaurant if staff is so incompetent.

We had a serious problem, which can happen when traveling with kids. Checked out leaving all documents in the room, passports included.
When realized, rang the hotel three times before having an answer which was: "I don't know what I can do more than I did, double checked the room there's nothing". Asked, begged him to check once more, maybe under the sofa where my little one loves to hide things. Nothing to do.
Wrote an urgent e-mail, did not even have a reply!
Drove back to check ourselves. Were admitted to the room with a woman from the housekeeping, our documents were exactly where we asked them to look for... under the sofa!! Unbelievable, husband saw them as soon as entered the room, which was also made up and perfectly clean.
This is unthinkable, no courtesy, no help, no competence at all. Keep away of this place, you'll get mad if you need something from them

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear sklaura,
Thank you for your review. We have a strict lost and found policy and it looks like we have failed you and would like to sincerely apologize. This review has been posted in our areas for all staff to review and our procedures have been looked at as well to ensure this does not happen again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, as it is comments like these that help us improve our guest services.
Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Well, too bad Delta jumped ship here! They are cureently under renovations (advised when I booked), but no hot water in the morning!?!? Gotta be kidding me! Also, they better invest in thei fitness facilities, pittyfull!!
Rooms are not too bad... But hallway very noisy! Install door sweepers here guys!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Daniel Bruce,
Thank you for your review. We are very excited about our current renovations! We will be welcoming a whole new lobby in February. Unfortunately, there was no hot water due to a local power outage in the city that had re-set our boilers for a few hours last week. Thank you again for your comments, we appreciate any suggestions for improvement.
Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The view is exceptional with harbour view and the staff are all pleasant and very helpful. I preferred it as a Delta as I am a business traveller and the pillows have been switched (downgraded in my opinion) - I know I'm picky!!. Also the amenities are not the quality I got to love. Very accomodating to booking a room and the rates are very reasonable. I would stay again, but have switched to Cambridge for business travel because when staying for a week, there are more conveniences - such as small store, breakfast buffet which speeds my leaving in the morning and staff are so helpful and quick to followup on any maintenance requests that may come up.

Room Tip: choose one with harbour view on any floor from 4 or up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mary S,

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the view from our rooms and our wonderful staff. We do have new standard pillows in our rooms with two soft pillows and two firm pillows per queen bed with a choice of four specialty pillows upon request. Our amenities have changed as well to the Bath & Body works line which is coconut and lime verbena shampoo, conditioner and lotion and citrus mint face and body soap. Thank you again for your comments and if you would like to stay with us again, let us know how we could help accommodate you better.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived after 5 in the am after cancelled flights in Halifax and a long drive to Sydney. I have to say that the young lady who checked me in was simply amazing, I think she smiled the entire time I stood at the counter, she actually apologized for Air Canada....it is not often that you encounter someone as genuine as i did - I knew I was in Cape Breton for sure !! I thought I would have to check out right away at 11am and she was very accommodating and said no problem, sleep late and she would let housekeeping know not to disturn me - and she was true to her word.

I am only dissappointed that I can not remember her name. For the hotel the date was Dec 22nd at 5:00am, I hope she is noted for superior customer service skills !

Room Tip: The guest room was a queen suite with amazing views of Sydney Harbor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear AlbertaTraveller67,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate you so you could catch up on a few extra z’s from your long day of travelling. I will certainly pass on your kind remarks to Sarah. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days visiting family in the area. While we did not spend much time in the room, it was very well appointed. The cleaning staff were exceptionally helpful when my daughter was sick early one morning (uncontrolled) Bedding, carpet, and bathroom required some quick cleaning. Luckily we were leaving for the day but was offered to move rooms. We waited until our return to decide but the cleaning staff had done such a great job, no need to move. No smell, No wet carpets. We have stayed here a few times (not Holiday Inn) and I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Tammy W,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad we could accommodate you during your stay in Sydney. It’s wonderful to hear that the housekeeping staff could meet your needs and did a great job as well. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the cleaning team. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town visiting!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a room on the 7th floor with very nice views including the world's largest fiddle.
The Lobby and other public areas, hallways, stairwells and the pool locker rooms are a bit musty and needed cleaning. But the rooms themselves were clean and smelt fresh. Toilet ran alnight, called late afternoon to have it fixed but never did. Also had trouble at first with the air conditioner not blowing much, called down and a nice young man came up to check it and even brought us a portable fan.
Only had breakfast in the restaurant and were pleased. The highlight of our stay though was a young man with an unusual name, Nymark. He seemed to be a jack of all trades he brought us the fan the night before and was our waiter for breakfast. He went above and beyond for us and other patrons making breakfast very enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear cat2009Texas,

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your room and the great view of the Sydney Harbor and ‘The Fiddle’ from the 7th floor; however I’m sorry we didn’t get your toilet fixed promptly. We are excited to announce the next stage of renovations is the lobby area, starting in January! We are also very lucky to have such caring employees like Nymark. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him as well as the food and beverage manager.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Address: 300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.