We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Sydney
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   368 Kings Rd., Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Mobile, AL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor Choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is very small and had two floors but no elevator. Upon arrival, the clerk seemed somewhat indifferent in offering service or answering questions. She did advise that the complimentary breakfast to be served would be found on a single table in the lobby. In fact, the breakfast offering was so miniscule, that it would have perhaps been better not to call it a complimentary breakfast. The clerk also advised that we could access the "patio" area from the interior of our room. This area was nothing more than a narrow sidewalk beside a dumpster in the back parking lot. Upon departure the next morning, the desk clerk did not ask us how our stay was nor did she converse with us. She directed all of her conversation to a fellow employee.

Room Tip: Do not take a second floor room unless you wish to carry your luggage up the stairs. There is no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your candor and honesty in your review of your stay with us.
I am very sorry that your expectations were not met on so many levels. We appreciate that the design of the hotel, or the items offered in the Complimentary Continental breakfast may not be suited to everyone’s individual preferences; however, that does not excuse any less than gracious or attentive service or standards. I apologize if guest services did not meet and exceed your expectations with service. There is never an excuse for poor service. Your comments are very helpful in identifying areas where we need to improve, and I have spoken with my Front Desk staff as a result of your comments. I do hope that by reading the many positive reviews we have received you can see that an experience like this is not indicative of our hotel, its service, or quality.
Again, please accept our apologies for a less than perfect stay, and we hope that you will return again for an experience that exceeds all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
30
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I want to extend a big thank you to the staff at the Comfort Inn!!!! We got in super late the first night and they were very willing to find us room. The staff was friendly it was like being with family. The rooms are clean with coffee and tea provided in room. The breakfast was always plentifull and good options to chose from. I would definately stay here again!!!! Thank You to Marie at the front desk who was extremely accomidating to all of our needs. If you are thinking of staying here DO IT!!!!!

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for the lovely feedback! It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your experience so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit the Sydney Comfort Inn! I truly appreciate the glowing recommendation of our property.
The Staff and Management are proud that we were able to exceed your expectations. I am also thrilled to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating, and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to Marie – she is one of the best!
It is always a pleasure to hear from guests that have had a great experience and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Reception staff were pleasant, beds and pillows were soft, and there was functional A/C. Breakfast was boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, toast, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. There is always fruit available too. Easy 2 min drive to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sydney Comfort Inn, and for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
Please do come back and enjoy the Sydney Comfort Inn again – and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Room 212, there was no hot water for the sink. I reported it to the front desk staff and was looked after immediately, excellent! But, when we asked the 2 staff at the desk the best way to get to Glacé Bay, the male staff said he does not know.

Continental breakfast was awful, coffee was watered down. The hallways on the second floor was airsprayed constantly to keep it frsh smelling. No elevators up to second floor that made it more difficult for individuals with mobility issues and, the staircases were located
At both ends of the hallway, away from the middle part of the building where the reception desk was.

Room Tip: Check the room before finalizing the check in process
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time write a review of the Sydney Comfort Inn, and we thank you for raising both the positive and constructive comments. We will ensure we use your comments to improve areas which may be letting us or our guests down. It does appear we are doing some things well, and your comments will help us improve the other areas.
Again, I do thank you for sharing your experience and we would welcome the opportunity to once again have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel staff were very helpful in showing me how to access the free internet service and offer directions to restaurants in the area. My room was clean and comfortable and all staff that I met were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a good choice for business travel and I would recommend it for its convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sydney Comfort Inn. I am always pleased to hear that our staff members were friendly and helpful, and I will be sure to share your comments with the Team! I am also pleased to hear that you found the accommodations clean and comfortable.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay and for recommending us to other business travelers. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked this hotel through Priceline so you never really know what you are going to get. While we got a good price, I wouldn't return. The hotel needs a good refresh. The rooms were ok. The free breakfast was less than appealing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for posting such honest and helpful comments. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast and the overall décor did not meet your expectations. Feedback such as this is very helpful when we are considering what improvements can be made to enhance the experiences of our guests. .
Please accept my apology for a less than perfect stay, and although you mentioned that you would not return to the Sydney Comfort Inn, I do hope that you will reconsider and return for an experience that exceeds all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have to agree with other reviewers with respect to the smell of smoke in the hallways, some of it creeping into the room. Not pleasant. Apart from that, this was a typical Comfort Inn. The room was fine. The continental breakfast had a decent variety of items to eat and drink, although it was pretty much necessary to take everything back on trays to our room, as there were only handful of seats in the area off the lobby. If you want to spend more in the Sydney area, you can probably find better accommodation, but if you spend less, I doubt you'll get as good as this Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with the smell of cigarette smoke, you might be challenged to find a "fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
As General Manager, guest comments are invaluable to me, and I thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sydney Comfort Inn. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to learn and to create a more enjoyable stay for all of our valued guests.
Once again, I thank you for your suggestions for improvements, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sydney

Address: 368 Kings Rd., Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Sydney, Nova Scotia is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking. Comfort Inn Sydney is the place to stay for your day trips to the Cabot Trail, the Cape Breton Highlands or Fortress of Louisbourg. We are centrally located minutes from historic downtown Sydney and our friendly staff is always available to provide your home away from home. Our 60 newly renovated guest rooms are fully equipped with free WiFi, 32" LCD TV's, coffee makers, irons and hair dryers. Enjoy our Complimentry hot breakfast as the perfect start to your day of touring beautiful Cape Breton Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.