We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No quality at this Quality.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hearthstone Inn Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Kings Road, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No quality at this Quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean but smelled musty. The staff failed to tell us that there was a pool. The breakfast consisted of only cereal and granola bars, and you had to stand in the lobby to eat. For the amount of money you pay, find yourself a b&b and get breakfast at least!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    28
    23
    10
See reviews for
28
23
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
W. Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed there one night after checking expedia and they were listed at the lowest rate. I wasn't looking for much more than a roof over my head, and it worked for the evening. It's close to a lot of things in Sydney. The next nights were spent at the Hotel Royale, which is an older hotel and more like a bed and breakfast with bathrooms down the hall for less than half the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When we arrived, we were booked into a 3rd floor room. We walked up the stairs and entered the hallway and immediately were turned off by the condition of the hallway. The carpet was dingy and worn, and all the doors and door frames were chipped, marked up, in bad need of a paint job. We proceeded into our room, and the room condition was the same. We proceeded back down to the desk and expressed our disappointment in the condition of the hotel. The desk clerk (who was extremely understanding and friendly) suggested a room on the first floor, facing the courtyard. We decided to give it a chance, and was pleasantly surprised at the improvement of conditions!! So my advice is to request a first floor room!! The location is good, close to stores and restaurants. The pool is nice, however, it would have been better with a hot tub!!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, and insist on a more recently upgraded room, because there was a notable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

painted brown, not the white from the picture. old and in real need of being renovated. fixtures look like they've been bought second hand... so 1990's. oxidation on the electrical, tub was discusting. no water pressure and tub didn't drain properly. Blinds even had holes in them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Chec-in person was efficient, not friendly (not rude either)' no smile, no explanation of how the breakfast works or give any details of the hotel.
There's a restaurant/coffee shop/diner next to the lobby. Had dinner there, the food was okay, the waitress was very good. Pay dinner bill at hotel front desk, the receptionist (different from the checking person) was very friendly.
I thought breakfast was at the same restaurant/coffee shop/diner...went in was served coffee and given a menu and was told breakfast that came with the room is outside, from the menu - have to pay. "Outside" means at the side in the lobby where coffee, tea and health bars were available.
Intended to stay 2 nights but stayed only 1 instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because it had a swimming pool for our kids. The room was clean and has the best beds I ever slept in! The front desk clerks were very friendly and exceptionally helpful with regard to contacting an afterhours vet for our dog with regard to gravol dosage before boarding the NFLD ferry the next morning...our one buggaboo was the fact that the grounds were not kept clean with regard to beer empties and cigarette buts at the entrance - this is not exactly a welcoming sight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Clean, maintained, and quiet, but stayed only because we were catching the ferry the next day. Breakfast was granola bars, coffee, and juice boxes. We got a fair price via Hotwire, but think it was overpriced with a normal booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hearthstone Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Address: 560 Kings Road, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearthstone Inn Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.