We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Pub & Eatery

Governors Pub & Eatery
233 Esplanade Street, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A6, Canada
902-562-7646
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 130 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night Food, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Delicious brunch food (creative, well executed and hearty portions), friendly service (she offered us samples of the new beers!), and absolutely gorgeous interior. I felt like I was in a big gorgeous house that I wanted to go explore. Carried some favourite microbrews on tap. Bonus: view of the water!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    103
    39
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are considering having our wedding catered by Governor's Pub, having heard great reviews, so we thought it would be a good idea to check out to get an idea of what we might be getting into. French fries were delicious and the atmosphere was very cool! My club house sandwich was soggy and falling apart from so much mayo on the bread, and my boyfriend's fish was so coated in batter he had to dig the fish out. We were both pretty unimpressed, and are hoping the pub food isn't a reflection of the catering menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had the pleasure of eating here twice. The appetizers are great and the seafood is fresh. It is typical pub fare and atmosphere, however, the patio is delightful. I have never been able to eat on the roof. It would have an excellent view, however, the bottom patio also has a nice view over the water. The service was a bit slow, however, the experience was great. A really nice place to eat with a bunch of friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was in Sydney for a week on business.....ate at the Governors Pub 4 times figured.....why mess with a good thing? The service was great, the food exceptional for pub fare. I recommend the pub steak, spinach salad is really good, the blackened salmon wrap very nice and had several different soups all quite tasty and not a small cup. If you're in town and looking for a good meal in a non-chain restaurant....give them a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Governors Pub has such a diverse menu that you will always find something for everyone - even your pickiest eater. I enjoy their salads and fish the best. The daily specials are lovely to try when you get the chance. The atmosphere is splendid. The fire place in the winter really adds to it. I think it would be great for a romantic dinner in the front room. The downstairs is classy and the upstairs (Bunker's) is an Irish style pub with live bands playing. Whether you are from Sydney or visiting on a cruise ship, I would recommend Governors for a nice time and meal with friends or family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governors Pub & Eatery also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Governors Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Pub & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.