We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay with the most gracious of hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast

A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast
115 George Street, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Sydney B&B and Inns
Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay with the most gracious of hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Thank you to Ann and Alex for a wonderful stay, and for taking my last minute reservation. Your house is beautiful and I felt very comfortable while there. The jacuzzi tub was just what my back needed after a 6-hour drive, and the nice cup of hot tea in the livingroom with some of your famous cookies and some great stories and conversation topped it all off. I felt like I was at home with friends. Breakfast was a real treat - all that fresh fruit, and I even got to choose how I wanted my eggs, toast and ham. You don't know how much that meant to me, because I can be a fussy eater. I will definately be back to see you again the next time I am in Sydney.

Room Tip: Every room was well appointed - they even have a room with two single beds if you are traveling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed here for three nights while touring Cape Breton and it was wonderful. As soon as we walked in the door we were greeted by the gracious Alex and Ann who were so friendly and hospitable, we felt really welcome. We stayed in the Pearl Room with two comfortable twin beds and a large and clean bathroom. The breakfast started with large selection of fruits and included several cereal choices and a hot breakfast of your choice. We were a short walk to various restaurants and services so the location was great. Would stay here again without any hesitation, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

You've got to visit this B&B! The second we walked through the door and met Alex and Ann they treated us like old friends. My wife was thrilled that they made the laundry facilities available at no extra cost, since we'd been on the road long enough to warrant a few loads. If you like sharing stories of travel, or any other topic for that matter, Alex and Ann will tell you things that will make your sides split from laughter. (Alex missed his calling, and should have been a standup comedian) The room was immaculate, and they insist on you leaving your shoes at the door to preserve that cleanliness. Slippers are provided and are washed after each guest is done with them. The breakfast is wonderful with not just a bowl of fruit to start, but dishes of individual freshly cut fruits layed out in front of you to choose from. Each day they put out bananas, apple slices, pear slices, pineapple, blueberries, strawberries, oranges, peaches, cherries, blackberries, and I may have missed some, but you get the idea. We enjoyed a variety of cereals, as well as yogurt after the fruit, and then there was a choice of your favourite hot dish to finish off. They both helped with directions to Fortress Louisburg, other sights, and restaurants, and made us feel right at home as we were continually offered another piece of Ann's banana bread. We were glad we spent two nights here. The last evening was spent with Alex out on their front porch sharing a beverage and chatting about everything. Their joy in their own company as well as ours was evident. Visit soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We spent two nights in this B&B. Ann & Alex made us feel extremely welcome; they are very gracious hosts. Our room and food were exceptional. Toured Cape Breton. B&B is centrally located in Sydney. We had a memorable visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We spent two nights here since Sydney is an area of Cape Breton that we had not yet explored and this location was central to numerous attractions. The owners/hosts have restored a Victorian home near a historic district and it is clear that they love running a B&B. They were extremely helpful with dinner suggestions in the area (most are walking distance) and the breakfast spread was wonderful -fresh fruit, home made breads and hot breakfasts were great. The home is very comfortable with a sitting room stocked with cold water, hot teas, etc. A computer is available for guests and wireless service is also provided. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Ann and Alex were superb and welcoming hosts and made us feel completely at home in their well-kept B&B. We stayed one night at the end of October before heading off on the Cabot Trail and as it was slightly out of season and there was no one else staying that night, Ann and Alex gave us the pick of the rooms for the price of the slightly cheaper room we had originally booked.

The rooms were all decorated, maintained and kept to a very high standard and the whirlpool bath was a real feature in our shining white ensuite bathroom. Ann and Alex offered us tea and home-made banana bread, bubbly conversation and restaurant tips. They even had the menus to hand! The breakfast the next day was a real treat and they certainly pull out all the stops for their guests. They made us porridge, french toast, eggs and ham; fresh fruit by the bucket load; coffee and cheer! It was an absolute delight. Even a jar of Marmite for those that like it on their toast.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Anne and Alex offer a warm, friendly and personal attention to everyone of their guests. Their place is clean and beautifully decorated. Their breakfast is excellent... Home made cookies were a part of our day, as Anne made sure to add confort to our day trip as we discovered and enjoyed the beauty of Cape Breton.
We loved our stay with them.. This was the best attention we have received in a B & B.
Olga Indacochea

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 115 George Street, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience Cape Breton hospitality at its best! Stay with us in our charming, turn of the century Victorian home. Our home is located in historic downtown Sydney. -Open Year Round- ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Charming Victorian Bed And Breakfast Sydney, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Charming Victorian Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list