We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss The Shoe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Shoe Pub

Red Shoe Pub
11573 Route 19 | Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
902-945-2996
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss The Shoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Red Shoe Pub was one of the highlights of our trip to Cape Breton Island. We were in Mabou two nights and went to the pub both nights. The music was a wonderful experience, fiddling and piping! The food was fantastic. We had mussels one night and pan-seared scallops the second night. Delicious! Did I mention the music?

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinner and traditional dancing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We joined the crowd at the Red Shoe Pub for fiddling and traditional dancing. Ate dinner their too. The atmosphere and food were both great! We even stayed later than expected chatting with other guests,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“celtic culture & fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is really a 'must do' on your drive around Cape Breton. The pub is owned by the Rankin sisters of the Rankin Family fame, and they've done a great job of creating an authentic experience. Check the website schedule so you're there for a ceilidh.

We squeezed in the door of the wee pub, and were lucky enough to share a table so we could watch all the folks in their sport sandals and dress shoes (with clickers) dancing something that looked like a Scottish squaredance in a very narrow space, to the music of a sideways-played fiddle and a church lady on keyboards. It was fabulous, fascinating, and joy personified.

We had dinner there too, the pan-seared scallops, which were pretty good. But you don't go there for the food. It's the culture, the fun, the smiles - and the great beer on tap. Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We recommend this wonderful restaurant! Sweetest servers EVER! Food was awesome... Chowder and fish and chips and a banana split to die for! I wish the Red Shoe Pub were in my neighborhood...I'd be a regular for sure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rankin Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We really enjoyed this stop at the Rankin Pub "The Red Shoe" Very friendly staff great music and lots of photos of the Rankin family Cute small town

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Shoe Pub also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Shoe Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.