We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Cafe & Lounge

Main Street Cafe & Lounge
158 Main St. | at the Maritime Inn, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2B7, Canada
902.863.4001
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 39 restaurants in Antigonish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Antigonish, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The lobster dip is a must:calamarie with their special sauce is great.
Seafood pasta is great.
Dessert was a toss up. We had one of the best bread puddings ever but our grandson claims that the double choc brownie with vanilla ice cream and choc sauce was equally as good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    23
    22
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Food was tasty and service speedY! I had white wine and pan fried haddock and my spouse had ribs and a coors light. The food was well prepared and served nice and hot!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“some good meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great corn chowder but items like fish and chips are from frozen which is shocking when you consider we are on the Atlantic Ocean.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had lunch at the Main Street Cafe on a busy Friday when the Highland Games were starting down the street. The hostess was able to find us a table quickly. The menu is extensive, the service excellent, and it was just a great experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Main Street Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I would just like to sincerely thank you for your gracious review. We appreciate all comments.
All reviews help to serve our customers better.

I hope you will be able to return to the Cafe in 2013 for the 150 Anniversary of the Highland Games.

Its going to be a great time!!

Thanks again,

Shawn Boudreau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great grad buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

3 of us ate dinner at the Main St. Cafe in the evening of Sunday May 6, 2012, after the morning graduation of my son at St FX. It was an absolutely delicious buffet, with loads of variety, interesting and very good appetizers, many different salads, hot vegetables, main courses, meat, fish and shellfish. We all ate too much and left carrying our stomachs before us! The atmosphere was happy as there were many other grad families there too. The seating is comfortable and the resto nicely decorated.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Lounge also viewed

Antigonish, Nova Scotia
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
 
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Cafe & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.