We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little in Need of TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claymore Inn

Save Saved
You added Claymore Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Claymore Inn
137 Church Street, Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Antigonish
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Little in Need of TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is so in need of TLC that they have forgotten how to dish out the same to their guests. But, if cleanliness is at the top of your priorities, this one will probably do. The floors are wooden and are mopped daily! (I witnessed this upon arrival and the staff confirmed this is so. ) The shower, tub, and fixtures were antiquated and difficult to adjust. There is an indoor pool (waaaay too cold) and a hot tub (waaaay too hot) and a sauna (the dry type). The location is in a parking lot with a sporting goods store as the mainstay. There is a restaurant, which is ranked #4 on Tripadvisor, but I do wonder how they got this. Our experience in the restaurant was, well, disastrous. In all fairness, we were there the weekend of the Highland Games and I think the 3/4 full restaurant was just more than they could handle. There were fireworks in the parking lot the night we stayed and no one warned us -- I woke up under attack, or so I thought, but then enjoyed watching from the window in the room. My guess is that there are slim pickin's in Antigonish for both hotels and restaurants, so this choice is probably not a bad one. We opted not to have breakfast and quickly moved on.

Room Tip: If you stay on the ground floor you will hear every footstep from the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Tank you very much for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your experience included a number of issues where we were not able to meet with your expectations. I will be reviewing your comments with our management and staff to take whatever measures are necessary to make improvements to our facilities and service. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our high standards for cleanliness.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
14
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped in with no reservation with one day of travelling behind us and another to go. Great experience for us (family of 5). The room was big enough to accomodate 2 adults, a teen and two children. Indoor pool was great. Unlike other places we've stayed, the pool had great hours for the kids to swim before an early departure with a day of driving ahead. Complimentary towels at the pool too. We received discounts for breakfast the next day at the restaurant. The food was great — didn't need to stop for lunch (your mileage may vary).

Service at the front deak was very efficent and friendly.

Location: Yes, the inn is located right off of a mall parking lot but the location is very quiet.I had no issues about safety while I was checking in at 11:30 pm.

Strongly recommend for families travelling. Wanting a comfortable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your positive experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. It is gratifying to know that we were able to contribute positively to your travel experience in Nova Scotia. I sincerely hope that you will continue to enjoy touring our province and that you will come again.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived later in the evening with no reservation. The front desk lady was very friendly & gave us a room discount as well as a $7.00 coupon for each of us towards breakfast the next morning. The hotel is older but does the trick. Our room was clean. We also checked out the pool/ hot tub, they were fine but full of a lot of chemicals. Our breakfast the next day was very good & the staff again was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our facilities and services. I am especially happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome by extending true Nova Scotia hospitality. I am proud of them and I will pass on your compliments. Please come again.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked through the nearby visitors center and got a discount. When we arrived at the hotel, they even upgraded us to a better room without any additional charges. Nice rooms, but small. Location next to shopping and restaurants. Breakfast in the attached cafe. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice indoor pool. We would book it again next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the facilities and services at The Claymore Inn & Suites. I am especially pleased that you found our staff to be welcoming and hospitable. I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again. It will be a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived very very late in the evening after lots of driving with no room reserved and were pleasantly greeted with wonderful service, checked in and made to feel welcome despite it being almost midnight. We were given a reduced rate for our late arrival. The staff was eager to tell us about the towns history and the tartans associated with it. The room was clean comfortable on a family friendly budget. Necessities in place, nothing extravagant which would not be expected at that rate. We also were provided with vouchers to cover part of our breakfast cost, we even misplaced them and were provided another set in the morning and reminded not worry and to enjoy our vacation by staff. So again the staff interaction in the morning deserve the highest compliment. We greatly recommend the fish cakes with eggs and waffle with NS maple syrup and fruit and very good coffee. While we dined another couple ate nearby and wanted to find a place to order some smoked salmon to be shipped home and the restaurant staff was very helpful as they researched and helped arranged this for them from a local shop. If you want a comfortable family friendly atmosphere stay at the Claymore!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. It certainly makes me very proud of them. I will certainly pass on your compliments. I am pleased that your experience at The Claymore Inn and The Justamere Cafe was so positive and I hope you will visit us again.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stay at the Claymore every time we go to Antigonish. The staff in the hotel and restaurant are unfailingly friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and well air-conditioned, the food is great, and the location is convenient. Highly recommended.

Anne E

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for recommending The Claymore Inn & Suites. I am very grateful to have guests who make us their hotel of choice when staying in Antigonish. We look forward to your next visit.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived with no reservation. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. The onsite restaurant was disappointing for dinner and probably the least appetizing seafood chowder of our 9 day tour of the maritimes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences on your recent visit to the Claymore. While I was pleased with your positive comments on the hotel I was disappointed to hear that you found your dining experience less than satisfactory. Generally, the comments on the dining room food is very positive including the seafood chowder. I have spoken to the Chef regarding your disappointment and I assure you that he will take your evaluation seriously and that he will review his quality control policies to prevent any future guest disappointment. Thank you very much again for your valuable comments and I hope we will have the chance to to make a better impression on a future visit.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claymore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Inn

Address: 137 Church Street, Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Claymore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Antigonish
Claymore Inn Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claymore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.