We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Habitation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port-Royal National Historic Site

Port-Royal National Historic Site
Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
902-532-2898
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1939 re-creation of Canada's first permanent settlement includes costumed interpreters engaged in traditional handicrafts like woodworking.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Habitation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Another historic attraction that is closed on Friday and Saturdays. We visited on a Friday. We were free to wander around the grounds but the it is impossible to see inside and we would have loved to go inside.
What we saw was really interesting and we will likely go back sometime to view in its entirety.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    37
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful bit of history, recreated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Nova Scotia primarily to learn about "New France." This was by far the best site we saw in Nova Scotia and one of the best we've ever seen. (And we've seen a lot, as we primarily travel for history). Although the original structures long ago were destroyed by the English and time, it has been lovingly and authentically reconstructed based on descriptions.

It is possible here to step back into time and get an idea of what life was like for the few men who were here basically to trade with the Mic-Mac for furs. As it was late in the season, there were just a few interpreters about, but they were very knowledgeable and interested in telling the story.

We'll long remember this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is an incredibly detailed and accurate representation of Port-Royal Habitation, built 1605, and a landmark in European exploration of North America. It's worth a visit for anyone remotely interested in history, or wishing to learn more about the area. It was really the beginning of European settlement in Nova Scotia, as well as the beginning of the French and English conflict over the area, which would last a long time -- see Fort Anne, nearby, for the continuation of that. But Port Royal nowadays tells the stories of its residents, the relations between the French and the Mi'kmaq, and the first official play ever performed in Canada. There are some fascinating details here, remarkable for a place that was only inhabited for eight years. But then, perhaps that's why the people working there seem to know every detail, and can seemingly answer any question.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Acadian? You'll want to see this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a recreation of the first Acadian settlement in the New World. In fact, founded in 1605, it was the first European settlement north of Florida, beating Jamestown, Virginia by two years. Why a recreation and not the real thing? Well, unfortunately, the settlement was burnt to the ground in 1613 by the Admiral of Virginia and a British invasion force who arrived while the Acadians, starting a back-and-forth tussle for supremacy over this beautiful region of bounteous resources that spanned more than 150 years. Still, the recreation is meticulous, accessible, and informative. And the setting is gorgeous so, even if you're interested only in a beautiful spot for a riverside picnic, you're in for a treat. But, it offers so much more than that, with period activities and interesting historic tidbits galore. The price is less than $4 per person (even less for seniors and youth), so it is affordable, too. If you are interested in the Acadian experience or in Canadian history, you'll definitely want to visit the Habitation

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Use your imagination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The strength of the site is the physical reconstruction of the fort. There are interpretative personnel to help you visualize what it was like. This is a small, early 17th century fort, not the mammoth forts of the mid-18th century North America, so the desolation and potential loneliness are obvious, as are the fruitful routines of the fort's personnel to ward them off. Very French in its careful arrangement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port-Royal National Historic Site also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Kentville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Port-Royal National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port-Royal National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.