We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transparent.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant

German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant
358 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Description: A very charming Bakery and restaurant just down the road from Fort Anne
Restaurant details
Description: A very charming Bakery and restaurant just down the road from Fort Anne
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Transparent.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I would request that the owners of this establishment stop padding their ratings with excellent reviews whenever a customer writes the truth about their restaurant's shortcomings. It's as blatantly obvious as when they write fake notes in their guestbook.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“NIce Susanna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had lunch here every day of our stay in Annapolis and enjoyed it. Susanna was a great hostess and my husband enjoyed the sweet things.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped here by accident and are glad we did. The salami was authentically German as was the sauerkraut and service , if a little slow, was chatty and helpful. We couldn't resist a take out cheesecake. We would happily return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great meal but so so baked goods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed a great meal so we thought we would get some baked goods to go. Unfortunately the baked goods did not live up to the level of the meal. The pretzel with lunch was fresh but the one bought to go was as hard as a rock. The cookies were okay but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Get a sandwich for the road!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had lunch here one day and went back to get sandwiches and cookies for the road. The bread is wonderful and so was my seafood stew. My husband could not pass on the goulash, which I tasted and was a little mild for my buds. The best thing about this place is it is family run and the care shows!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.