We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipidous...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant

German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant
358 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
Description: A very charming Bakery and restaurant just down the road from Fort Anne
Restaurant details
Description: A very charming Bakery and restaurant just down the road from Fort Anne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Serendipidous...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped here because one of our children had to use the bathroom and when we got inside and saw all the delightful pastries on display we absolutely had to stay and try the food.

I will say that the prices are a tad bit higher than I would have expected in such a small town, but as my Father always said, "Jamie, you get what you pay for." In this case you certainly did. The food was wonderful and we took a few pastries for the road. I honestly have no problems paying higher than expected prices when the service and quality of food is good, and in this case they exceeded that.

Stop here if you ever find yourself in Annapolis Royal, even if it's just for one of their delicious pastries. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“German Bakeries,a good thing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went too early in the morning. I think we got yesterdays' baked items. What we bought we took with us on our journey.Use of a microwave might have helped bring back the freshness.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Authentic German bakery with more sweet things to eat than you could reasonably indulge. Need something sweet? Just stop in here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very friendly service, met some wonderful people, delicious treats, very clean, will certainly come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant in "ALL" of Annapolis Royal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have ate at some bad restaurants in my lifetime over the years, but this place is the worst restaurant in the whole world, and the German lady who runs this so-called restaurant is the most rudest person on the face of this planet, i will never ever ever eat their again the rest of my life.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Bakery Sachsen Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.